Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Cletus Elementary School

Private | PK-8 | 565 students

Family Atmosphere

 

Living in Gretna

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $103,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 29, 2014

Wonderful staff and strong academics. The teachers are all very hands on and they know all of the students and parents there. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2014

Strong academics while teaching sound morals. Teachers and staff are all wonderful! Academics are wonderful also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

What's not to love about St. Cletus? The faculty is devoted and willing to help their students in everyday possible. The principal leads this faculty and staff with a Christ centered approach to each situation and student. St. Cletus educates the whole child. Both of my children have attended St. Cletus and I'm grateful for each and every person my child has come into contact with. I highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2014

This is not a good school at all. I've never been so disappointed at a school. Definitely not what God would want
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2013

We moved to New Orleans and the education system is not great. St. Cletus' elementary grades are average. The middle school needs lots of improvement. The principal isn't warm and friendly. I am not sure if she should be working with kids. My husband and I are thinking about moving next year so our kids will live in a better enviorment and will get a better education. We feel that the people of New Orleans are behind and they don't realize it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2013

At. Cletus is an excellent School with strong leadership and caring faculty. My Daughter loves the school. The pastor is also very involved with the School. I feel that St. Cletus is the best Catholic School on the West Bank.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2013

My children have attended St. Cletus since pre-k. They have fantastic teachers, a supportive and helpful administrative staff, fabulous principal and a diverse student body. St. Cletus is the perfect size school- not too big or too small- and offers many extracurricular activities. The principal has an open door policy and is proactive at assuring all students feel safe and loved. Teachers are easily accessible for questions and/or concerns. I can't imagine a better place for my girls to be educated. Love it!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2013

No school in always perfect. St. Cletus has very dedicated teachers that work hard to give each child an opportunity to learn in a safe environment. Administration makes sure that the teachers have (including working on certification) what they need to teach meaningful engage filled lessons. Data and research are used to drive decisions. Test scores went up in several sub test areas and compared to the region, St. Cletus did very well. Security has been upgraded for the protection of students and staff. We have a supportive Pastor that supports the improvements of the school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 8, 2013

Awesome school advancing in technology every year. Love the principal. Very easy to correspond with her. Faculty is friendly and readily available for assistance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2013

My child did not start her school career at St. Cletus, we came in as outsiders and were immediately accepted as part of the St. Cletus family. I was worried she was coming in somewhat behind SCS students but her teachers brought her to speed quickly. These are some of the most qualified group of educators I have ever encountered. Our principal is making sure our teachers are keeping up with the latest in professional development along with them all being certified or working on certifications. Our test scores are up along with enrollment. Technology is always being updated. Our school security system was just replaced to make the school safer for our students. St. Cletus was the best move I could have ever made for my child's education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2013

Our school is wonderful and forever growing. Under the current adminstration the enrollmen has increased along with our standarized test scores. The faculty and staff are dedicated and willing to go the extra mile for the students and for each other. We are supported by the community and Pastor as well. Everyone in our St. Cletus family is willing to do what it takes to help our children succed in school and move on to thier next journey in education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2013

Bad school. Never want another child to have to step into this school. I hope the childredn rebel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2013

I don't understand the last four poster's comments. Our current principal is the best thing that ever happened to St Cletus. Our enrollment is up and our standardized test scores are up. In fact, this past year we had the highest scores in our area. She is requiring all the teachers to become certified and she pushes the teachers to have high standards for themselves. And we certainly haven't lost any "good" teachers. I highly recommend St Cletus. It is a family oriented school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2013

9 teachers left last year and 7 this year. While numbers are up teacher turn over speaks volumes. This school is just not the same under the new administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2011

I believe that st.cletus prepares you for high school in the most exceptonal way. i also believe that sometimes the discipline can go to far. also i think that the agenda marking procedure is useless because if we are preparing for high school then we shouldnt have the agenda marking process.


Posted May 14, 2009

St. Cletus offers their students a wonderful education through using a holistic approach. The teachers combine spiritually with hands-on activities to enrich the educational experience. The teachers go above and beyond of what is expected of them. I am so pleased with everyone on the staff. Even better than that, my child loves her school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2009

I have two children attending St. Cletus. This is their first year at the school. I am very happy that they attend this school. It is very family and christian oriented. I would highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2008

I am very happy my child is attending this school. It is my extended family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2006

Have 1 child that has atteneded and 2 that are. We love the school. Its very family oriented. Everybody knows everybody.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2005

I had 2 kids go to St. Cletus from Pre-K to 7th. One left to go to Archbishop Blenk where she is a National Honor Society student. My son went to Brother Martin where he regularly makes A's, B's and a C once in a while. St. Cletus has been wonderful and with our 3rd child still there we could not be happier. We work the fair and participate in the parish functions and really enjoy interacting with all the other families of the parish. It is a great school and I recommend it strongly!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 47%
Black 13% 45%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 1%
Hispanic 4% 4%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Advanc-ED SACS Accreditation (2011)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
Clubs
  • Arts and crafts

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:20 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Jill Grabert
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (504) 366-0011

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
Transportation options
  • Parent Drop off and Pick up
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Library
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New Orleans
  • Jefferson Parish School Board
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Arts and crafts
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cub scouts
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Mission Club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
104
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
114

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$4000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
10 various Catholic High School in the Area
Small percentage go to Public School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3610 Claire Ave
Gretna, LA 70053
Website: Click here
Phone: (504) 366-3538

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Walden Academy
Terrytown, LA



Muslim Academy
Gretna, LA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT