Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Harvest Christian Academy

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Hammond

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $126,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 28, 2011

I have been a parent (continually) at Harvest Christian academy since Fall of 1995. I have graduated two children from Harvest and will graduate my last child this coming school year (2011-2012). My two HCA graduates are now juniors, one in college and one in high school. Over the last 16 years I have liked and disliked some things at Harvest school but the most important element of HCA, that hasn't changed, is the Christian principles and standards that all students are required to uphold. This school is a Bible based school that teaches core subjects: math, english/reading/literature, history, science, and physical education. THE TEACHERS at HCA are all Louisiana certified. The administration has worked amicably over the years each time I had a parental concern for my child. This past school year Harvest church blessed the school by completing the gymnasium. Thanks to Harvest church our basketball teams had a place on campus to practice! I am sad this is my families' last year at HCA. A GREAT CHRISTIAN SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2011

My child go to Harvest and she just loves it. I cannot say enough about the teacher she had this year. Mrs. Stevens was amazing! She is fun and so creative. She pushes the kids to strive for excellence and it is so evident. My daughter came out of there a new creation and we own it all to HCA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2011

My child attended Harvest for several years. There are a couple of good teachers. The kindergarten teacher is great! My big problem with this school is the principal. She has no qualifications to be principal and makes bad choices. When I had a problem with the school I contacted her directly and she would cut me short while talking and make snotty comments. As far as the bad choices, the middle school kids don't have all the curriculum they need because we can't afford it. I heard this straight from a teacher there. But $200,000 was spent on the gym. Kids need a gym but most of the money went to the basketball turf that was extremely expensive. So basketball court instead of basic curriculum used even at local public schools. hmm...Also, she is not held accountable to anyone. There are no PTA meetings or even board type meetings with her leaders (because she does not have any). Even qualified principals should have to answer to someone on a consistent basis. There are many teachers that would do a great job as principal and are very qualified for the position. If you want to send your kids to school her, only do it for the elementary levels and watch out for the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2010

My children attended Harvest Christian Academy for the first time during school year 2009-2010. My oldest attended public school for her kindergarten year and oh how I wish she had been enrolled at Harvest for that very important year of her life. One of my best friend's son was in Mrs. Holstein's Kindergarten class last year. My friend was very impressed and appreciative of her ability to help the children make the transition from home to school. I love how the school encorporates God in every aspect of their teachings. The standards they expect their students to achieve and adhere to while at school and at home is phenomenal. I am blessed to have a school with Godly ethics and high academic standards to enroll my children. I pray classes will be extended throughout the 12th grade by the year my children arrive at 9th.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2007

This school is great. I used the information I learned while at harvest for years to come. I was very prepared for high school and a great foundation to build on.


Posted August 1, 2007

Harvest is an excellent school. My son attends and I just love it.I would recommend it to anybody. The principal & teachers are wonderful. The learning is far above the rest of the schools in this parish. Harvest keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2006

My daughter was in Ms. Aikman's K-3 class at Harvest Christian Academy in 2005-2006. My husband and I were totally astonished at how much she learned and developed during those 9 months. For example, after the very first week of school, she could totally recite the pledge of allegiance without our assistance. She is now registered for K-4, we are anxious to see her continual spiritual, educational and social growth during this school year with HCA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2004

The teachers at Harvest cared about my child's education spiritually, academically, and emotionally. The school has a loving and safe environment. I would not send my children anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 100% 44%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% N/A
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 1%
Black 0% 51%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 3%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ORUEF

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

43052 Yokum Rd
Hammond, LA 70403
Phone: (985) 429-0422

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Oaks Montessori School
Ponchatoula, LA





Holy Ghost School
Hammond, LA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT