Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
38 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 46 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bonnabel Magnet Academy High School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted April 02, 2016
- a student
Thank You: Mrs. Khalb for always being open to ideas for improvement. Ms. Grey for signing me in and out. Teachers for making a better me for the world to see. Lunch Ladies for the spicy chicken sandwich days. Custodians for being so nice and always having a smile on your faces. Nurses for having my physicals in before the season started. Students for your perspectives in class and funny jokes. And my class of C/O 2016 for being my second family.

Bonnabel Magnet Academy High School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted April 02, 2016
- a student
Advanced courses have a fair amount of homework, but the regular courses need more at home work.


Bonnabel Magnet Academy High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted April 02, 2016
- a student
Adult and students care much about one another's well being. Everyone is so willing to hear any problems a person have or even how well their day is going!

Bonnabel Magnet Academy High School 5

Posted April 02, 2016
- a student
Initially, I was afraid to come to Bonnabel because Bonnabel had a poor reputation. My parents could not afford for me to go to a private school; so, I was forced to enroll in Bonnabel. Today I am proud to call myself a Bruin. Bonnabel can be called by many because the staff welcomes all identities. There is a plethora of clubs, organizations, and advanced courses. As a Senior looking back on my freshman year, I realized my fear originated from my belief in rumors instead of the facts. "Put good in, get good out." Unfortunately, individuals fail to realize that they create their experiences. My experiences was so great because I submerged myself in difficult classes and participated in various clubs. If you want your experience to be great don't be afraid to get out of your comfort zone. If a student actively associates with students prone to trouble, than what else could they expect but trouble. My advice to any incoming frehemen is to be the best student you can be because high school will past with the blink of an eye.

Bonnabel Magnet Academy High School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted February 02, 2016
- a student
Overall the teachers at Bonnabel does a good job of educating it students. Some teachers do a better job than others, but that's expected.


Bonnabel Magnet Academy High School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted February 02, 2016
- a student
For the most part, Bonnabel staff, faculty, and administration remains honest and fair. A student with a great reputation might get a little more leeway than a student with a poor reputations as far as disciplinary action goes.

Bonnabel Magnet Academy High School 1

Posted March 08, 2015
- a parent
This school is a joke. If your kids are enrolled here just know the staff is not aware where they are at any time. They roam the streets and hang out in front of the apartments across from the school smoking pot and cigarettes all day. Several calls to the police and school and no one does anything. I would be disgusted to know my child could walk off campus at any time and no one knew. Even when a community tries to make the school aware the dean does nothing! Watch your kids here because they are not in good hands.

Bonnabel Magnet Academy High School 4

Posted February 20, 2013
- a student
Bonnabel is a decent school. The education is acceptable and if your child seems more advanced than most others, they can easily switch to all honors classes. Switching classess is very easy and the couselors are quite generous. The teachers are experenced and good educators. There are deans patroling the school at all times so the area is secure. The school size is very big. There are plenty of students and plenty of space for them. It's almost like a mini college, thining about the size. There's a 50 minute lunch where you may wonder around outdoors and eat in- or outside. There's four periods, lunch being between second and third. The school is overall acceptable.


Bonnabel Magnet Academy High School
no rating

Posted April 28, 2010
- a parent
This school offers a great overall HS experience. I was impressed with the Freshman orientation. It was informative. There are plenty of clubs and sports teams available. There are programs that encourage your children to attend college. The Principal and staff truly care about the children. The school has great school pride. The test scores are fairing decent versus the district overall. Oh, and there is a clinic on-site!....and its free!

Bonnabel Magnet Academy High School 5

Posted February 08, 2010
- a student
At first I never thought Bonnabel would be such a great school, but now being a Freshman I can say this school is probably one of the most spirited oriented High Schools in Jefferson Parish. I'm proud to be a Bruin!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bonnabel Magnet Academy High School
2801 Bruin Drive, Kenner, LA  70065
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 46 reviews. (504) 443-4564
Last modified Bonnabel Magnet Academy High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top