Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Kenner, LA
Students enrolled: 409
 

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Walter G. Schneckenburger Elementary School 5

Posted June 18, 2013
- a parent
Schneckenburger, is the best school hands down my daughter has been going here since pre-k, teachers & staff are highly trained. I love this school I would recommend it to anyone.

Walter G. Schneckenburger Elementary School 5

Posted October 23, 2012
- a parent
I am probably one of the most difficult parents of all time when it comes to pulic schools. I have this vision of what it Should be, and the staff and school rarely meet my expectations. This one...oh.my.goodness. Finally! We finally found the right school for us! It is above and beyond on every level. I have a child who's very strong-willed and isn't the easiest kid to deal with at times. The entire staff is so cool, calm and collected they are perfect for his personality. He LOVES it. My other child is easy as pie, and he loves it as well and also has an excellent teacher. The principal is just wonderful, when I met her I actually tyhought she was a secretary, the secretary was out of the office and the principal was doing her job for her! Now that's teamwork! It's so bright and colorful and inviting. They are so flexible, just great people in general. I'm so relieved we finally found an EXCELLENT public school.


Walter G. Schneckenburger Elementary School 5

Posted May 22, 2012
- a parent
We just finished our first year here in Kindergarten! My husband and I have been so happy with our decision to send our kids to this school. We have the financial means to send our kids to private school, but we chose to send them here because we heard good things about it and were blown away by our tour last spring. The teachers and staff at the school have exceeded our expectations! Both of my kids are learning and LOVE school. I spent a good bit of time up there volunteering so I have seen first hand what goes on in the class rooms and the hallways. The teachers and staff are very well organized, and the students are always quiet and respectful. The principal and the teachers don't seem to tolerate any "riff raff". Addressing the comment below, about starting the year without a Kindergarten teacher, this was by no means because of a lack of organization on this school's part. Unfortunately, that falls on the Jefferson Parish school system's lap. We are looking forward to spending the next few years at Schneckenburger =)

Walter G. Schneckenburger Elementary School 5

Posted September 01, 2011
- a community member
I had two grandchildren who attended Schneckenburger, however, one has gone on to middle school. Both their parents and I are very well pleased with the school. I volunteer there, and see first hand that it is an extremely well run and organized school. Both of my grandchildren love going there, and really like all of their teachers. My youngest grandchild started their in kindergarten, and I was amazed at the things she was learning. This year there are approximately 64 kindergarten children. There were only two kindergarten classes last year. The two teachers are wonderful. As I walk through the school I am in awe of how well they are conducting such a large group. The children are well behaved and listen to them as they go through their daily lessons. I personally attribute my grandchild's success in school to the teaching and training she received in kindergarten. She has been on the honor roll every semester since she started and she is in her fourth year. You could not find better teachers than these kindergarten teachers. They are handling a difficult situation with poise, grace, and dignity, and the children in their classes will only benefit from them.

Walter G. Schneckenburger Elementary School 1

Posted August 29, 2011
- a parent
The school year has just started and I already regret enrolling my child to this school. The teachers do not communicate with me at all. I have no idea what my child is learning on a day to day basis, or even weekly for that matter. When picking my child up as a walker; three times already, my child has walked outside the gate without the teacher even noticing that he was gone. I, the parent, had to wave my hand to let the teacher know that my child was in my care. The teacher didn't even realize my child was gone! Absolutely insane. Even when I tried picking him up as a car rider, the same issue happened. By the time the teacher got to my car, if I was a stranger; I could have abducted my poor child. Not to mention, there is still no kindergarten teacher assigned to my child. The school keeps sending letters home apologizing. An apology is the last thing I want to hear. Take action and get something done! This is ridiculous! My husband and I have paid supply fees to the school and have yet to receive books, backpacks and everything else we've paid for. This is the most unorganized facility that I have ever been apart of.


Walter G. Schneckenburger Elementary School 5

Posted January 04, 2010
- a parent
I really enjoy this school the teachers here know if their student has any siblings at the school and know who the siblings are so they are dismissed together. They are well aware of the students there.

Walter G. Schneckenburger Elementary School 5

Posted August 28, 2008
- a parent
Schneckenburger Elementary is a Wonderful School, the teachers and staff know your children and where they are at all times. The teachers update their curriculum often and keep learning interesting for the children. My 2 daughters attend schneckenburger and will do anything to keep them there though we dont live in the district. Its like a small school atmosphere with all the technology and knowledge of the big city.

Walter G. Schneckenburger Elementary School 5

Posted August 14, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Walter G. Schneckenburger Elementary School 5

Posted June 23, 2008
- a parent
Excellent principal participation she knows everything that goes on. Excellent prekindergarten program. Excellent teachers. My sons teacher won teacher of the year.

Walter G. Schneckenburger Elementary School 5

Posted April 15, 2008
- a parent
My son is in K now and has special ed. assistance. I can't say how impressed I've been with the special ed. teachers and program. He stared in the special pre-k 3 through early steps. My older childred have always attended private schools, but they couldn't give him what he needed. Well I've changed my mind about public schools and he gets his 'religion' at sunday school on Sundays!
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Walter G. Schneckenburger Elementary School
26 Earnest Avenue, Kenner, LA  70065
(504) 443-1236
Last modified Walter G. Schneckenburger Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Walter G. Schneckenburger Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top