Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Teurlings Catholic High School

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Lafayette

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $80,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $650.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 20, 2014

Okay so I went to this school for half of a year and my experience was.. Different. Due to my circumstances I had to make new friends and meet new teachers. I had to figure out how each teacher taught and who was who. I like the school but the teachers were very scattered and when I went to previous schools I was an honor roll student all my life. After the transfer to Teurlings I barely passed. I talked to a few of the honor roll students and they said they literally were on all kinds of stress medicine and never had much time to enjoy the school itself like football games or even basketball games because they had to always study and now I'm considering different schools because I would like to experience being a teenager while I have the chance.


Posted December 4, 2011

My daughter was in a private school through 8th grade, then we decided to try a public high school. We reconsidered after a couple of months and tranferred her to Teurlings. Huge mistake. The teachers are unqualified, demonstrating very little skill or knowledge with a couple of exceptions, and worse, caring very little about the students, very unsupportive. I could not believe how little effort is made to assist or aid the students. The teaching is terrible. Tests have material the students have never seen or had explained to them, and worksheets and hand-outs are supposed to "teach" the material. One teacher had to have another teacher explain the material as presumably she didn't know how to teach it; another routinely uses instruction time to have her students grade tests from other classes so she doesn't have to. I was disgusted by this experience, and regret spending a penny there. My daughter is now in the Honors program at Lafayette High and is very happy. If you want to pay for incompetence, I recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2011

I attended this school for two months. It was terrible. The teachers are not helpful at all and will do the very least possible as far as their jobs are concerned. After attending this school for the short period of time that I did, I switched to Lafayette High School and am extremely happy with the switch. I wouldn't even recommend TCH to someone I disliked. I strongly discourage any parent from sending their child here and any student from wanting to go here.


Posted August 14, 2009

I'm currently a senior at Teurlings, and I have just come to notice how great of a school it is. The school has minor flaws that most other schools also have: such as some of the facilities needing to be renovated, and the lack of electives for us to take. However, I finally see just how much the goods outweigh the bads. Though some of the facilities are not the best, gradual improvements are being made to the buildings, and though there are not many electives to choose from, there are an abundance of excellent teachers, and challenging courses for those looking for the best preparation for college, such as taking a dual enrollment course in History or English to earn college credit while still in high school. Also, the athletics program is awesome, and games are always fun to go to. I love TCH! Rebels for life!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 19, 2009

This school is environmentaly friendly. The students are nice and the teachers help a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2008

I love this frieldnly school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 8, 2007

Bravo, you all run one heck of a great school. The number of kids with outstanding grades, is one thing , and sports , and spritual life, as well a parental support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2007

I love it here! It is one big family!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 2, 2005

As a former student, I think this was an outstanding school for the money. Having attended 2 other high schools, this was by far the best. It was small enough to have that family feeling especially since most students had gone to school together since kindergarten. Most were welcoming and friendly to the new kid. They have a strong alumni association with most sending their children. If we lived in the area, my son would definitely be there.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 47%
Black 10% 45%
Hispanic 2% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Michael H. Boyer
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Fax number
  • (337) 234-8057

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Lafayette
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

139 Teurlings Drive
Lafayette, LA 70501
Phone: (337) 235-5711

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




N. P. Moss Annex
Lafayette, LA


Northside High School
Lafayette, LA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT