Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Marksville Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 20, 2008
- a parent
I have recently moved to the area from Grant Parish and I do not care for the Avoyelles Parish school system. They go over things in the class that my children don't have a chance to catch on before they are moved on to the next items. In Grant parish, they took the time with my kids, and made sure all the students in the class knew it before they moved on!!!

Marksville Elementary School 1

Posted March 23, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Marksville Elementary School 5

Posted January 13, 2008
- a community member
Marksville Elementary has great teaching skills, is a good enviorment for children to learn, and has a great principal to go with the wonderful staff and teachers that cares about each student with equal opprotunities.

Marksville Elementary School 5

Posted October 14, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Marksville Elementary School 4

Posted June 02, 2006
- a parent
Recently this school changed leadership. The new principals are hard working, caring, and very intellegent. They are trying to rebuild the school to new standards and they are doing a great job of it. They are willing to take in parent and teacher input in all areas. There doors are always open to give feedback. This was my daughter's first year there and I really enjoyed it. Everything is not perfect yet, but there are too many good-spirited and caring people there to fail.


Marksville Elementary School 5

Posted March 27, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Marksville Elementary School 4

Posted September 14, 2004
- a parent
The Avoyelles Parish School Board is screwing up the whole School System. They srewed up the budget and now they're at odds as to what to do next. First they wanted to sell timber, then when they finally got the much needed money, they have problems getting access to the land. All of this could have been avoided if they would have paid attention to the budget in the first place. This has got to be one of sorriest School Board Systems in the U.S. It's time to replace these people (not all of them) at ELECTION TIME. Mr. P. Washington

Marksville Elementary School 1

Posted June 17, 2004
- a parent
I used to have 2 children in this school, but I quickly pulled them out when a much better school opened it's doors 4 years ago. The teachers at Marksville Elem. are more concerned about their smoke breaks, how many vacation days they will have off and if they receive their paychecks on time than teaching. I was really lucky, my 2 children didn't have any trouble with any of their schoolwork, but the slower children had it really hard. Most of the teachers at this school don't care! The principal there is horrid! I would rather homebound my children than send them to this school. Thank God for Charter!


Marksville Elementary School 1

Posted August 27, 2003
- a parent
Since the installation of the school dress code, academics has fallen to the wayside. The school board is more worried about whether your child has the proper uniform or belt with his/her pants than the quality of education they are receiving. They push the children through the curriculum as fast as they can, not worrying whether the child has learned the subject matter or not. They are too focused on the LEAP testing, which if they taught the children the curriculum properly in the first place, they wouldn't have to worry about the LEAP tests. I say get rid of the dress code, or at least be less strict on it. Quit worrying about if there are logos on the clothing, make it more affordable to the families who can't afford the higher priced uniforms. When you have 88% of the students on free/reduced lunches, what makes the powers that be think that the parents can afford expensive uniforms???

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Marksville Elementary School
430 West Waddil Street, Marksville, LA  71351
(318) 253-7464
Last modified Marksville Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Marksville Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top