Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Westgate High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Monday, September 15, 2014

I agree with a Student. They are to worried about dress code and not enough worry for academics. My son just started to get hair on his face and before it can grow in properly they threatened to cut if I don't or suspend him. How does the hair on your face prevent learning? How does the t shirt under your school shirt affect learning. Westgate does penalize to much for dress codes. Loosen up a little it's high school.!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2006

I was supposed to be a senior at Westgate this year 2006-2007. I have had Mr. Gray as my principal ever since 7th grade. He is a wonderful person and cares more about everyone then anything I have seen before.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 5, 2006

I think that they need to ease up on the dress code a little... How are we supposed to get a good education if the staff is worried about dress codes and such... How do outside pockets and rivets keep one from learning?
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 2, 2006

As a freshman of Westgate High, I strongly believe that Mr.Gray is a great principal. The problem is that he treats the school like a correctional facility, and it ruins the high school experience. He needs to worry about issues that actually are a detrement to the students well-being and education. He needs to address important problems. Aside from this, Westgate High offers wonderful extracurricular activities. For the most part, the teachers are friendly and polite. Westgate staff does a great job of helping to organize extra academic incentives for the students. There should be more school dances (maybe once a month). Overall, this is a great school to attend.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 24, 2006

To the parent whose son got in trouble for having his shirt hanging out of his pants, I think you should be happy that he has someone who cares. Yes, some teachers shouldn't be teachers but Some parents shouldn't be parents. Without Mr. Gray Westgate would have no discipline. Maybe you should try to spend one day in Mr. Gray's shoes. If students were allowed to just sit and talk with friends at the lunchroom table they would never go to class. Maybe its ok with you if students come in late for class, their underwear is seen if they are sagging, and students do as they please. How many times have you been to Westgate for activities or just visiting the school. Thank goodness for Mr. Gray. He is awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2005

Mr. Gray was my son's pricipal during middle school. I was really concerned about my son going to Westgate after hearing about the previous principal. I was excited to know that Mr. Gray would be transferring to Westgate. He is a wonderful principal. Kids today need discpline. After all, high school is one step in preparing our kids for the real world. Kids need to learn respect for their peers as well as other adults. They are attending school knowledge. Not to be sloppy, disrepectful, or play around. Its a disgrace to see the way some kids are raised. I applaud Mr Gray for leading my son down the right path while also teaching him that his goals are achievable and his future is bright. My only concern is that my younger son will not have the advantage of having Mr. Gray as principal in 7th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2005

Our child will be attending Westgate next year & the thing that impressed me the most on my visits was the discipline that the principal has in this school. Today our young adults do not (for the most part) respect adults or the authority they have & it shows. The lack of respect for authority, self & others shows up in dress, words & actions. I think it is wonderful to see Mr. Gray expect better of them & set standars high after all if they know the rules and are following them they won't have a problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2005

I agree with the first review. The principal could ease up alittle, my son got three days in the AC for his shirt being untucked only twice. The first day he wrote lines and missed all class work that day, the next day he finally recieved class work after lunch time. I find this a bit stupid. I wish they could stick to real problems. And as with most schools, there are a few teachers who shouldn't be teaching in my opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2004

Westgate high school is pretty much a new school. Howevever this past year they recieve a new principal. The current principal is all about disipline. Children there feel as if they are getting punished for things they only are a custom of doing. This includes hanging out at lunch tables, getting needed restroom breaks, receiving academic rewards, wearing passed academic issued shirts, and so forth. School pride is much lower compared to the last five years. Students need somthing to look forward to and encourage them to do better. They are going to school to learn, not a correction center to improve behavior. I believe this school could be great if only the children can get encouraged to succeed and get involved. Thank you Parent
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 64% in 2010.

300 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2010.

299 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
39%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
35%
English II

The state average for English II was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
53%
English III

The state average for English III was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
35%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the End-Of-Course (EOC) tests to test grade high school students in English 2, English 3, biology 1, algebra 1 and geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The EOC is a high school graduation requirement. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

Source: LA Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 50% 45%
White 40% 47%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 1%
Hispanic 1% 4%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2305 Jefferson Island Road
New Iberia, LA 70560
Website: Click here
Phone: (337) 365-2431

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Catholic High School
New Iberia, LA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT