Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Ecole Bilingue De La Nouvelle-Orleans

Private | PK-7 | 174 students

We are best known for French National Curriculum.

 
 

Living in New Orleans

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $228,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $990.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 16 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 17, 2009

Wonderful teachers and provides children with the opportunity to learn in multiple languages.


Posted September 16, 2009

This small, independent school is doing something not many other schools do- providing a bilingual learning experience in a developmentally-appropriate environment! The administration and faculty are the most supportive and encouraging I've ever met, to the children and to each other. This school is a rare gem for the state of Louisiana!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 12, 2009

amazing school. Best deal in town for a private school. I have two children in the school and we have never had a bad teacher. They are very good about catering to the individual child . We love teh new facility,even though it was not perfect when the school moved in. We love the location, the large old classrooms, the fete francais and the brand new kaboom playground. I am still amazed that my kids can go back and forth from french to English and are reading and testing above grade level in both. I fell this is due to the low student / teacher ratio.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2009

I'm very disappointed in the new director and the choices made by the school without proper parental notification. I did not feel like my young child's development was the number one consideration- and shouldn't child development be the main purpose of a school?


Posted December 17, 2008

Incredible teachers(French natives) experienced director, hard working staff, core of involved parents and most important happy kids! The fact that it is french immersion is the cherry on top!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2008

Taking a turn for the worse under new leadership. The school is more interested in expanding ($$$) than in the development of the children. This will be our last year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2008

Fantastic school, highly academic, best bargain in town compared to other academic scools
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2008

An amazing school. Responsible and responsive, forward thinking and open-minded. A great place for kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2008

As a parent at Ecole Bilingue from my son's pre-school year through 5th grade, I can attest to the incredible education that my child received here. He has moved on to an ISAS school and is well adjusted, confident, excelling academically, has made new friends easily and is extraordinarily happy. Oh yes.... and did I mention bi-lingual? Bravo Ecole Bilingue!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2008

Beautiful school, great staff, incredible academics, best independent school in new orleans!!! a bargain compared to other private schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2008

Excellent teachers but very overpriced. Lousy location.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2008

Without a doubt a very special school for young children with a wonderful focus on nurturing creativity. The teachers are so committed to the well being and overall development of your child. As a parent, the school has opened my eyes to that which is important for my child's education today and for the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2007

We just enrolled our 2.5 yr old because our oldest attended 2 yrs preK at EB. We applied to the top 6 private schools in NO for kindergarten and were accepted to 5. He received an excellent education with loving, top-notch teachers. In addition, becoming fluent in a second language at so young an age is a great gift for a child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2007

I feel like my son goes to the best school in New Orleans. Small, family atmosphere. Quality academics - with daily PE,art, music. Wonderful male role models at Ecole, especially considering the lack of men in elementary education these days. I love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2007

New Orleans' best kept secret in the education department. Excellent academics.Honoring diversity. Global, forward thinking parents and staff who understand the importance of this type of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 47%
Hispanic 15% 4%
Black 11% 45%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
German
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • French
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Clubs
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Pauline Dides
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (504) 896-9610

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • French
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

821 General Pershing Street
New Orleans, LA 70115
Phone: (504) 896-4500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Crescent Academy
New Orleans, LA



St. Stephen School
New Orleans, LA



Bricolage Academy
New Orleans, LA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT