Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Algiers Technology Academy

Charter | 9-12 | 322 students

ATA is the only open enrollment digital careers high school in New Orleans.
 
 

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 7, 2013

ATA is a good school. The teachers and other people who work here is nice and they care about us and our future. I'm glad I decide to be a student here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 5, 2013

I love this school!! The teachers are so awesome... they really work with me with i'm falling behide with my grades
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 5, 2013

Algiers Technology Academy is a wonderful school. It has fantastic teachers, and amazing students. We are like one big family here. This is my senior year, and I can honestly say that I will miss this school very much.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 5, 2013

Algiers Technology Academy is the most caring & kind school i ever went to .
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 5, 2013

Algiers Technology Academy is a wonderful place to be affiliated with. I'm poud to be apart of such a wonderful and unique school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 5, 2013

Ata is a wonderful school to me. It is like a second home to me, the teacher are like mothers, father, aunts, uncles to me and I really enjoy this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 6, 2011

This school was a very bad experience teachers were focused on being "down" with students than the importance of our education. It was a very small school and you had limited access to the things you need like books, lockers, libraries, this school did not supply me with the things I needed in order to prepare for the future. Ata was okay but VERY SMALL you make the best out of every bad situation. PLEASE DONT MAKE THE DECISION TO SEND YOUR CHILD HERE; SEE FOR YOURSELF THE WEBSITE PROVIDES FALSE INFORMATION AND THE PICTURES ARE MISLEADING. IT IS ALSO RARE TO USE THE TECHNOLOGY SO DONT EXPECT STATE OF THE ART COMPUTERS LIKE I DID!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 10, 2010

My first experience at attending this school was pointless and a huge wast of time and tax payers money. Then, I began to realize that the teachers treated everyone with respect. If you are on the honor roll then you can expcet a fun field trips. When there are state test coming up, they break all of the students up into groups that will help them pass the test. And it doesnt just last for a few days, but at least 2 weeks before the test takes place. The school only takes so many students, so most of the classes are small and easy to learn. Our uniforms are also pretty awesome!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 21, 2010

Very disorganized office and sub-standard teachers. This school does not even have books!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 64% in 2010.

85 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
44%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2010.

84 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
13%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
23%
English II

The state average for English II was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
35%
English III

The state average for English III was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
21%

2010

 
 
14%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the End-Of-Course (EOC) tests to test grade high school students in English 2, English 3, biology 1, algebra 1 and geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The EOC is a high school graduation requirement. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

Source: LA Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 96% 45%
Hispanic 2% 4%
White 2% 47%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/A67%
Male 53%N/A51%
Female 47%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Computer programming
  • IT support

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Industrial / graphic design
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 4:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • Tomika Washington
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (504) 324-6998

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Hybrid
  • Project-based
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Computer programming
  • IT support
  • Industrial / graphic design

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6501 Berkley Dr.
New Orleans, LA 70131
Website: Click here
Phone: (504) 302-7079

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Chalmette High School
Chalmette, LA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT