Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Morris Jeff Community School

Charter | PK-4 | 139 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 30, 2014

Morris Jeff is a Great school in the New Orleans area. Both of my children have attended since 2010 and have learned so much more than what they were learning at their previous school. There is a news letter sent home weekly with the kids and also emailed along with a work plan of what they will be learning throughout the week and what their homework consist of. Not only are their taught ELA, vocabulary and Mathematics, but other subjects include science, social studies(history and Louisiana history), writing(yes they do reports) Spanish, art, music and their IB unit. I'm very impressed how elementary school has changed in the 20 years that I attended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2014

My daughter is in her second year at Morris Jeff and while I've been happy with the school so far, I haven't been completely ecstatic about it. The teachers are fantastic, but leadership is definitely lacking. I like the IB curriculum aspect, the immersion program, and the diversity. Also, my daughter is very happy at this school, which is what has kept me from looking elsewhere. Communication is a problem. There are report card/progress conferences (as previously noted by another poster)...............twice a year. The website is terrible. It's full of old pictures and old information and is not exactly up to 2014 standards, in my opinion. The Facebook page is random. Other posters complained about discipline and rowdy kids. I have never found this to be a problem. They are children after all, and surely they can't possibly believe that the discipline problems compare at all to other public schools in Orleans Parish. The school is pretty much run by a group of parents, who are unqualified and not open to suggestions. (If you need proof of this, attend the spring fair.) Morris Jeff overall is a good school. The teachers are excellent. The administrative staff needs an overhaul.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2013

I think that the truth is that both of the last posts are correct. I seldom have any communication from the school and there is nothing online to quickly check my child's grades. I like my child's teacher but the kids are kind of wild and undisciplined. The parents run the school and seem to be the ones that get anything done. Simple things like getting a lunch menu is way too difficult!!! It has many good points,too. They are very friendly and they will address problems if you make the request. It is no where close to perfect but it is a decent place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2013

I am very confused by the previous post. Every assertion is contrary to what we have experienced with Morris Jeff (my son is in his third year). Especially strange is the assertion that [r]egular parent/administration communication efforts are little to none regarding the progress of each child and what they are actually learning (or not learning) in class. It is a fact that there are regular parent-teacher conferences (we parents cook for the teachers and host an appreciation luncheon for them on conference days), along with regular report cards and daily updates that go home in folders. We also receive a weekly newsletter describing what the children are learning in each area of study and a homework packet for the week. When I email questions about an assignment, my son s teacher gets right back to me. As for the principal s responsiveness, I have contacted Ms. Perkins twice with concerns and received prompt, engaged, and appropriate responses. And really, the vibrant IB curriculum is stagnant ? The discrepancies between the previous post and reality lead me to conclude that the poster is a troll. What s the point in bad-mouthing a school you have no connection with?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2013

My children attended this school for two years and I was more than disappointed. The teachers are not given the support that they need to handle the disciplinary problems in the classroom and support the special needs children that they are not qualified to care for. The principal turns a blind eye toward issues that need to be addressed and advanced children are not challenged and I watched my own children regress in this stagnant environment. Regular parent/administration communication efforts are little to none regarding the progress of each child and what they are actually learning (or not learning) in class. Now my children are attending better schools and I see a night and day difference in their achievements, levels of self esteem, etc. I would not recommend this school to someone who is active and interested in their child's educational advancement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2013

We love Morris Jeff! We have a child in the 4th grade class and a child in K. Both are thriving. Parents are actively involved in the life of the school and the teachers go above and beyond. Our K is now reading at an advanced level --- fully to the credit of her teacher. The dynamic arts program is enriching the learning experience and the IB curriculum is helping our 4th grader develop a global perspective on issues. I highly recommend Morris Jeff. The perfect combination of nurture and knowledge growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2013

I am so impressed by this school. My son has mild autism, with speech and language impairment, and I was searching for a free, public school that would cater to his academic and social needs, have some diversity in race and socioeconomic class, and encourage family support. He has done so well here, and loves going to school everyday. His teachers, the special education director, and the principal are all so personable and willing to answer whatever questions and concerns you may have. This school was literally an answer to my prayers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2013

I love this school. This is my dream school for my children. I wanted them in a public school that was diverse in all aspects of race, socioeconomic status and abilities/disabilities. I wanted them in a school that reflected real life. This school is like a family and is a true community school. The teachers and administration are incredible. Parent's have a voice and the school community is very warm and inviting. My kids are very happy here. The afterschool Explorers program is a bonus for me since they need to stay in aftercare. There they get even more art, spanish, music, dance and enrichments. They never want to go home! The curriculum is rich in critical thinking and is challanging, yet fun for the kids. This school is a gem for New Orleans.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2013

I am so pleased with most everything about this school. The teachers are supportive, creative, and tireless...the principal is a true leader, very present and very engaged. The curriculum is challenging and interesting. I love that everyone involved is always working hard not simply to be a great school, but the best school it can be for that community of students at that particular time--no resting on laurels here! The diversity, reflective of the city as a whole, makes for a vibrant and living, ever-evolving environment. There are so many opportunities for parental involvement, too, even for an incredibly busy single parent. I feel so lucky that my child here, I don't think I could ask for a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 56% 45%
White 36% 49%
Two or more races 4% 1%
Asian 2% 1%
Hispanic 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/A66%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Patricia M. Perkins
Fax number
  • (504) 309-3647

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

P. O. Box 19227
New Orleans, LA 70179
Phone: (504) 373-6200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Nelson Elementary School
New Orleans, LA


Youth Study Center
New Orleans, LA



St. Leo the Great School
New Orleans, LA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT