Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hillcrest Elementary School 5

Posted April 18, 2014
- a community member
My granddaughters love Hillcrest so much. Hillcrest has had so many members of my family go there it is a family tradition at this point to attend this great school.

Hillcrest Elementary School 1

Posted February 12, 2013
- a parent
The principal at the school does not know how to talk to parents. She runs the school like it is prison. The teacher my daughter has in kindergarden is a former 3rd grade teacher and she treats the kids like they should know as much as 3rd graders do, for heavens sake they are only in kindergarden. She will not let children go to the bathroom when they raise their hand.


Hillcrest Elementary School 5

Posted December 15, 2012
- a community member
HILLCREST TEACHES KIDS WHAT TEY NEED TO LEARN TO ADVANCE TO THE NEXT GRADE AND THEY HAVE GREAT TEACHERS AND GOOD DISCIPLINE

Hillcrest Elementary School 5

Posted October 13, 2010
- a community member
I love Hillcrest because the teachers are always well-prepared and work constantly to meet student needs. There are high expectations for the students. All the employees at the school love their jobs and they are happy to work there. They love the students. The principal wants the best for the students and works to encourage that.

Hillcrest Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 01, 2009
- a parent
The teachers at Hillcrest are excellent. The principal is a problem. Her manner of speaking to the parent's at this year's open house was flippant. Some of her rules are excessive such as no speaking at lunch time, even for children in kindergarten. Her uniform policy exceeds that of the school district. I guess lace on socks for little girls is an outrage that cannot be allowed. Fortunately, the teachers are outstanding.


Hillcrest Elementary School 5

Posted March 18, 2009
- a parent
My two children go here and i believe that it is one of the best schools in lincoln parish!! the principal knows what she is doing and she is doing a great job!!

Hillcrest Elementary School 4

Posted January 08, 2009
- a parent
I love Hillcrest because my kids enjoy learning and making friends not only with the other students but with the teachers and Principals

Hillcrest Elementary School 5

Posted January 27, 2008
- a parent
My boys have attended Hillcrest for two years. Sadly we are relocating to another State! Mrs. Decuir, Mrs. Brown and Mrs. Richardson have all be absolute blessings! I can't say enough good things! Wonderful in every area!


Hillcrest Elementary School 4

Posted January 18, 2008
- a community member
I have attended this school as part of a university program. This school is GREAT. The teachers are very open, and you can tell they LOVE their job. The morning routine is astounding! Mrs. Hay really sets up a school of achievement!

Hillcrest Elementary School 5

Posted January 02, 2008
- a parent
My son attended this school for 2 yrs. These 2 yrs were the only yrs that he excelled. The 2 teachers he had (Brown & Dickerson), were excellent teachers, who cared about their students. They made learning fun, and gave rewards for excelling.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hillcrest Elementary School
301 East Kentucky Avenue, Ruston, LA  71270
(318) 255-0550
Last modified Hillcrest Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5
Hillcrest Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top