Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
436 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Southfield School 5

Posted April 05, 2016
- a parent
We have been at Southfield for the last four years, and we have had a wonderful experience. I know that my child is in a very safe and secure environment, and is receiving an excellent education. The teachers and administrators are caring and dedicated, and clearly interested in making sure ALL children are in an environment that foster's academic achievement and positive moral growth and development.

Southfield School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted February 18, 2016
- a parent
Mr. Walker; The appreciation of the dedicated excellent work, caring, diligent and expertise that you and every board member, personnel members, Cafe members, volunteer members, Janitors, maintenance, Shreveport Police Department and any other person or entity that cultivates to my child's well-being and future cannot be expressed enough in my lifetime. Thank You So Very Much! God Be With Us, Elizabeth Tolson, NP


Southfield School 1

Posted January 30, 2016
- a parent
This school is highly overrated. My child attended this school and she hated it. Too many busy body parents vying for control and no leadership from the head master. The teachers are good, but they could be so much better if they didn't have to worry about catering to overbearing, difficult parents. This school lacks leadership in the worst way. Parents are allowed to bully students and teachers without suffering the consequences of their actions if they donate enough money to the school. Again, this lack of leadership fosters a poor learning environment when children are more concern for their safety than they are about learning mathematics or science. My abvice to any parent that is thinking about having their child attend this school is to save your money and have your tested for one of the Magnet schools. The best decision we made as parents were pulling our child out of Southfield and testing for magnet. Our child is happy and excelling at South Highlands. Your child will be challenge more at one the Magnet schools than at Southfield and you will have peace of mind knowing that some over zealous busy body parent isn't bullying your child with the tacit approval of admistration. Parental cliques run the school

Southfield School 5

Posted July 14, 2011
- a parent
Southfield is a excellent school! It offers so many wonderful programs that the kids are truly excited about learning. The kids seem to support and help each other. They also teach great values. It's a nice small environment. All of the faculty and staff are very supportive. The class size is smaller here too. It's an investment but one I don't regret and am thankful I did. I have had others comment to me about how much my kids have learned since they have been going to Southfield School. A biggie is no violence or worry about your child's safety. It's a very friendly, family oriented school. I could go on forever! It's a wonderful place to be! Check it out.

Southfield School 5

Posted February 28, 2011
- a parent
I attended Southfield and have enrolled my children there as well. Excellent school; well worth the tuition.


Southfield School 5

Posted August 03, 2009
- a parent
My 2 kids went to Southfield for the last 11 years - preschool-3 through the 8th grade. It is the highest quality school, private or public, in this area. It was worth every penny and the best investment we could have made in our kids' futures.

Southfield School 5

Posted June 21, 2009
- a parent
Awesome school! I wouldn't trade it for the world. There isn't a day that goes by that myson doesn't want to attend school.

Southfield School 4

Posted March 03, 2008
- a parent
Southfield is the best private school in shreveport/bossier


Southfield School 5

Posted April 20, 2006
- a parent
The Southfield School has been an extraordinary school! The teachers, students and staff are head and shoulders above the rest. There is tremendous pride throughout the school. Everyone has been so very helpful and caring throughout the year. I am very impressed with what my child has learned both in and out of the classroom. My child has blossomed at Southfield School.

Southfield School 5

Posted March 15, 2005
- a parent
I am now on child number three at this school, I can say without reservation that it is a wonderful, nuturing institution. The children are taught in an excellent environment by caring teachers and staff. It is worth the money invested in our childrens education. having your 1st grader come home and explain diphthong and schwa to you is an elevating experience.

Nearby schools

Southfield School
1100 Southfield Road, Shreveport, LA  71106
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (318) 868-5375
Last modified Southfield School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top