Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Captain Shreve High School

Public | 9-12 | 1518 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 11, 2012

In my opinion, this is the BEST school in the Shreveport/Bossier area!!!! My son went to Shreve for 4 years and received a top notch education in the magnet program! He loved Shreve and loved playing football ! I would recommend Shreve to parents and kids who are serious about an education....this is NOT a school for slackers!!! GO GATORS!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2012

Outstanding principal, excellent teachers and the best facilities in northwest Louisiana. The emphases at Shreve is on academics and leadership development. High quality, diverse, goal oriented student body.Long tradition of military academy appointements, top ROTC program. It is a dual magnet/neighborhood school, Always very competitive in athletics and a full range of extracurricular activities, - exactly what you would hope for in a high quality AAAAA school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2011

Exellent school with helpful, caring staff and administration. Great neighborhood school with super magnet programs. All around a wonderful experience. Go Gators!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

In today's world of public schools, you worry about discipline, But not at this school. I have two children going to Captain Shreve and they both are really happy. The school experience can be as much as any child wants. The administration is fully engaged in the student activities. Great neighborhood school and in a great area of Shreveport. Don't go full Magnet or think that Bossier schools are better until you have seen this school. This High School is a shining star of North Louisiana. It offers way more than private schools can too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

I had 3 children go through Capt. Shreve and couldn't get my last one out fast enough. The principal is rigid and cares only about students who play football and belong to sga. The cliquey atmosphere is stifling for students who don't fit the mold. Just look at the teacher turnover rate to see how difficult the principal is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

Captain Shreve is the best high school in the Shreveport/Bossier area. It has eveything that makes a good school. I recently graduated from Shreve on May 18, 2008. Those were the best four years ever. Shreve has the best athletics. Football season was the best. I'll miss the pep rallies and going to the football games with my friends. The atmosphere at those games will never be forgotten. Geaux Gators! Captain Shreve's Class of 2008 is the best!


Posted April 27, 2008

Students who attend Captain Shreve have the opportunity to receive an above average education and to be part of a progressive all around program with vision and dedication by teachers, administration and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2008

Captain Shreve is an excellent school that I would recommend to anyone. We will begin our fourth year next year and are please with the education that our child has received and how the school continues to improve and grow. The principal and administrators are very dedicated to making Captain Shreve the best high school in the state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2008

Captain shreve high school is one of the best schools in caddo parish. It's like you typical american high school. They have very high school spirit, and excel in many of their academic and athletic endeavors. Their gifted program is very challenging, and is sure to prepare your child for college. The principal is a little different, but overall the staff is excellent. If you want your child to go into college with a good education as well become well-rounded, send your child to shreve!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 12, 2007

I am a student at Captain Shreve and I just moved here this year. When I changed High Schools I was thinking it would be a lot better. I was wrong. People are not very welcoming. Shreve has caused me to hate high school when I used to be a Varsity Cheerleader and very active at my old school Shreve doesn't allow you to try out for Varisty cheerleading without going there the years before.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 3, 2006

My daughter has just finished her freshman year at Shreve.As a mother of an 'average' student, I feel the classroom sizes are too large to adequately teach and help the 'average' student. Phone calls and notes to teachers were never returned promptly. Her homeroom teacher was fired between 1st and 2nd semester and substitutes were used for quite a while until a permanent replacement was made. There are opportunities for sports but not all are for girls such as golf and lacrosse. There seems to be some parent involvement but mostly with the parents of upper classmen.Even after volunteering, I was rarely called to participate in school activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2006

I am a mother of 4 Captain Shreve students-2 graduates, and 2 more there now. I must say that my children have received an excellent education, academically, as well as being well-rounded from all of the other activities offered there. The principal, faculty and staff have been open, helpful, and completely willing to work with my children! Both of my graduating seniors have done great in college, with outstanding recommendations from their professors. I also want to address the issue that all gifted students must be at other schools in order to receive a quality program...I couldn't disagree more! Shreve has provided an excellent program for my 'gifted' kids! There are wonderful teachers there, as well as some amazing students! I definitely believe in Shreve! K. Porter
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2006

I have two children at Captain Shreve in the gifted program. Because of its smaller enrollment we have found it to have an almost private school type environment as opposed to some of the other mega schools in the area. The academics are extremely challenging and I am satisfied my kids are prepared to enter any college or university in the country. At the same time, the school competes at the highest levels athletically having won state and district championships in tennis, football, baseball and soccer in the last twelve months. There are acres of parking,a very safe neighborhood and the facilities are first rate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2006

This School is wonderful. The teachers care about the kids and even though there is about 1100 students they all feel like individuals and are able to excel in anything they wish. We have lived in 4 other states and CS is one of the best high schools I have seen!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2005

This is one of the best schools in the Shreveport/Bossier area for academics and athletics. Tough school, but gets you prepared for college. Ok school spirit from students, but better support from parents. Has a liberal arts and engineering magnet program as well as a gifted program. Baseball, golf, tennis, soccer, lacrosse is excellent. Football is on the uprise. Great school to attend if a person is serious about going to college.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 12, 2004

I graduated from this school in 2002 and I must say I hated it every moment. The principal is a control freak who does not realize that students can learn and have fun at the same time. The policies of this school seem to only apply to certain students which is not fair at all. Parents do not send your students to this school if it can be avoided!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 15, 2004

I love Captain Shreve High School. My daughter is very involved in cheerleading, student council, and many other extra curricular activities and she has great grades! This school definetly challenges its students and I think I can tell a lot about Captain Shreve just by how much homework they give (A lot!) It is a very gifted school with many gifted students and teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 64% in 2010.

388 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2010.

388 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
42%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
37%
English II

The state average for English II was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
67%
English III

The state average for English III was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
37%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the End-Of-Course (EOC) tests to test grade high school students in English 2, English 3, biology 1, algebra 1 and geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The EOC is a high school graduation requirement. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

Source: LA Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 53% 45%
White 44% 49%
Asian 1% 1%
Hispanic 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/A66%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Sandra McCalla
Fax number
  • (318) 865-5041

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6115 East Kings Highway
Shreveport, LA 71105
Website: Click here
Phone: (318) 865-7137

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


C.E. Byrd High School
Shreveport, LA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT