Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Shreveport, LA
Students enrolled: 1,358
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Captain Shreve High School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
Strong academics! Teachers are excellent! Athletically -fairly strong in all sports except for football and lacrosse. Coaching is the problem in those two sports... not the kids. If they could fix these two spots it would truly be an overall area powerhouse

Captain Shreve High School 5

Posted December 11, 2012
- a parent
In my opinion, this is the BEST school in the Shreveport/Bossier area!!!! My son went to Shreve for 4 years and received a top notch education in the magnet program! He loved Shreve and loved playing football ! I would recommend Shreve to parents and kids who are serious about an education....this is NOT a school for slackers!!! GO GATORS!!!


Captain Shreve High School 5

Posted August 13, 2012
- a parent
Outstanding principal, excellent teachers and the best facilities in northwest Louisiana. The emphases at Shreve is on academics and leadership development. High quality, diverse, goal oriented student body.Long tradition of military academy appointements, top ROTC program. It is a dual magnet/neighborhood school, Always very competitive in athletics and a full range of extracurricular activities, - exactly what you would hope for in a high quality AAAAA school.

Captain Shreve High School 5

Posted June 09, 2011
- a parent
Exellent school with helpful, caring staff and administration. Great neighborhood school with super magnet programs. All around a wonderful experience. Go Gators!!

Captain Shreve High School 5

Posted May 02, 2010
- a parent
In today's world of public schools, you worry about discipline, But not at this school. I have two children going to Captain Shreve and they both are really happy. The school experience can be as much as any child wants. The administration is fully engaged in the student activities. Great neighborhood school and in a great area of Shreveport. Don't go full Magnet or think that Bossier schools are better until you have seen this school. This High School is a shining star of North Louisiana. It offers way more than private schools can too.


Captain Shreve High School
no rating

Posted April 01, 2009
- a parent
I had 3 children go through Capt. Shreve and couldn't get my last one out fast enough. The principal is rigid and cares only about students who play football and belong to sga. The cliquey atmosphere is stifling for students who don't fit the mold. Just look at the teacher turnover rate to see how difficult the principal is.

Captain Shreve High School 5

Posted May 27, 2008
- a community member
Captain Shreve is the best high school in the Shreveport/Bossier area. It has eveything that makes a good school. I recently graduated from Shreve on May 18, 2008. Those were the best four years ever. Shreve has the best athletics. Football season was the best. I'll miss the pep rallies and going to the football games with my friends. The atmosphere at those games will never be forgotten. Geaux Gators! Captain Shreve's Class of 2008 is the best!

Captain Shreve High School 4

Posted April 27, 2008
- a parent
Students who attend Captain Shreve have the opportunity to receive an above average education and to be part of a progressive all around program with vision and dedication by teachers, administration and parents.


Captain Shreve High School 5

Posted April 26, 2008
- a parent
Captain Shreve is an excellent school that I would recommend to anyone. We will begin our fourth year next year and are please with the education that our child has received and how the school continues to improve and grow. The principal and administrators are very dedicated to making Captain Shreve the best high school in the state.

Captain Shreve High School
no rating

Posted April 06, 2008
- a student
Captain shreve high school is one of the best schools in caddo parish. It's like you typical american high school. They have very high school spirit, and excel in many of their academic and athletic endeavors. Their gifted program is very challenging, and is sure to prepare your child for college. The principal is a little different, but overall the staff is excellent. If you want your child to go into college with a good education as well become well-rounded, send your child to shreve!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Captain Shreve High School
6115 East Kings Highway, Shreveport, LA  71105
(318) 865-7137
Last modified Captain Shreve High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Captain Shreve High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top