Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
45 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 61 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Walnut Hill Elementary/Middle School 2

Posted May 11, 2016
- a parent
This used to be a good school and still has some good teachers but has really gone down hill the last few years. The administrative staff are uncaring and unhelpful. My child had a very expensive item stolen due to school negligence. The the person i dealt with was unhelpful and disinterested and said it would be best if he did not pursue the matter. I'm glad my child will be going into a magnet program next year.

Walnut Hill Elementary/Middle School 5

Posted April 18, 2014
- a community member
Walnut Hill Is an awesome school!! The teachers there really care about the students. My grandson loves this school!!


Walnut Hill Elementary/Middle School 5

Posted October 21, 2013
- a community member
I have gone to Walnut Hill since Kindergarten, the teachers are great, and they challenge you every single day of the year. I love all of the teachers and staff, I have had problems with bullying but it was handled immediantly and effectivly, they do not play at Walnut Hill and they do not accept kids who want to joke about their education. I have been invited to take my SATS in the SEVENTH grade because my grades are high, and I have an above level reading skill. I learned to read in Kindergarten and have always read above level. I was reading the Twilight series in the third grade,and reading Harry Potter in the fifth. I am now reading at a twelfth grade level in the seventh grade. I would recommend this school to anyone and everyone, who wants to learn that is. The teachers are strict but fun, they teach in a way that makes you WANT to learn every second of the day. I love my school, and never want to leave (To bad I have to I wish they had a highschool part of the school) ~Charlotte Mcmellon student

Walnut Hill Elementary/Middle School 5

Posted October 11, 2013
- a parent
Walnut HIll is a great school! I have a son in kindergarten that has an amazing teacher. The first 9 weeks aren't even over and he is already reading! I have a nephew in 2nd grade and a niece in 5th grade who are also learning a lot. I went to Walnut Hill from 2nd to 8th grade. Mr. Hardison is a great leader and role model for these kids. I love how keeps God in the school and everything is lead by prayer. These kids rank the highest in public schools in Shreveport

Walnut Hill Elementary/Middle School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a community member
WALNUT HILL SCHOOL IS K-8 Shreveport,LA. . THEY ARE ALL ABOUT OUR CHILDRENS SAFETY AND EDUCATION. MY HAT IS OFF TO MR. HARDISON. OUTSTANDING PRINCIPAL. MR. WILLIS IS IN CHARGE OF GETTING OUR KIDS ON AND OFF SCHOOL BUSES IN TIMELY AND SAFE MANOR. MY GRANDCHILDREN GO TO THIS SCHOOL AND THEIR MOTHER WENT SEVERAL YEARS AGO. I HAVE SEEN 2 YRS. KIDS HAVE GONE, GREAT IMPROVEMENT IN GRADES, SOCIAL ABILITIES, & ATTITUDE CHANGE. WITH NO DOUBT IN MY MIND AND HEART WALNUT HILL DESERVE AS WELL AS OTHER SCHOOLS TO WIN THIS $5000. I KNOW A FACT IT WILL BE USED TO HELP ALL OUR CHILDREN IN THIS COMMUNITY TO THRIVE FOR A BETTER EDUCATION. THANK YOU FOR THE OPPORTUNITY.


Walnut Hill Elementary/Middle School 5

Posted November 16, 2012
- a community member
I go to Walnut Hill and I love it there! I have been there since Pre-K and I am currently in the seventh grade. All of my best friends and teachers are awesome and they couldn't be better! I also don't remember a time i got lower than a mastery on my iLeap and Leap tests. Anyway I love Walnut Hill and it is the best school ever!!

Walnut Hill Elementary/Middle School 5

Posted August 26, 2010
- a parent
I love this school! Mr. Hardison is an amazing leader. My children went to another school in the area where there was nothing but trrouble. I am so glad we were able to move into the walnut hill district and my kids can get the kind of education they deserve from people who genuinely care about the students

Walnut Hill Elementary/Middle School 5

Posted March 27, 2010
- a student
I love walnut hill you learn things about life like its not what you look like its who you are i have gone to walnut hill all my life and i love the teachers i could not have better teachers thanks you mr harddison i just love walnut hill


Walnut Hill Elementary/Middle School
no rating

Posted February 05, 2010
- a parent
I really like the school. My two children are being challenged and learning a lot of new things. I wish they had better school pick up and drop off...it takes so long with such limited space. The kids run to the buses and rough house in the grass...makes me a little nervous someone will get hurt. The middle school kids are rude and loud...they shut doors on kids and parents and they run and scream in halls. If they could fix the way the middle schoolers behave it would be a great school that set a great example for the younger kids. My little ones are scared to use the bathroom and walk in the halls because the staff tolerates and approves of how the middle schoolers act. The security guard who helps with car drop off/pick up is AWESOME. He is really an asset to the school.

Walnut Hill Elementary/Middle School
no rating

Posted December 19, 2009
- a parent
Both my children attended Walnut Hill and I just want to say it is a Wonderful School and Principle Hardison is the best!!! I'm so proud to see it continues to be an outstanding school! Way to go Mr. Hardison!!!

Nearby schools

Walnut Hill Elementary/Middle School
9360 Woolworth Road, Shreveport, LA  71129
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 61 reviews. (318) 687-6610
Last modified Walnut Hill Elementary/Middle School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top