Advertisement
Advertisement

Our Lady of Lourdes Elementary School

Private | PK-8 | 455 students

Our school is best known for offering a safe, well-rounded education.

 

Living in Slidell

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $130,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,050.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 12, 2014

Lourdes' middle school teachers are less concerned with her academic success than those at public school. I also had to pay for tutoring since it's NOT included in the tuition...and she's an average student; not slow. The teachers are allowed to post nightly homework online for the parents to be involved with the child's assignments, but they don't do it. Conferences with teachers didn't help (one teacher literally gave me shrugged shoulders). Emails to the Principal and Counselor didn't help either. I was left no choice but to pull my daughter out to go back to public school where the teachers are state certified, tutoring is offered, and there's no "good ol' boy" cronyism among the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2012

I would not have my child in any other school. Having had her enrolled in a different school early-on, I can honestly say that there is no comparison. Her elem. experience has been excellent! She looks forward to the challenge of mid-school. Her teachers have her well-prepared to move forward. It will also be exciting to have the new gym & cafeteria next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2011

I attend Lourdes from 5-8th grades and i wish i had started there sooner. It is by far one of the best schools i have ever attended. Most of my teachers are great and make class fun instead of just boring learning. There are lots of sports and clubs for the children to be involved in. There is homework but not a lot. The teachers review until ALL of the students understand the materials which does not normally make the students too behind in their academics because most of the students are very bright. We do a lot of expiraments and labs. The students are for the most part all friends and if someone is somewhat of an outcast, no one bullies them, they just leave them alone or try and make friends with them. The lunches are okay. Only about half of them are good but we get two choices so there is normally a good, healthy choice. I would definitely suggest this school to send your children to.


Posted January 5, 2011

My step-daughter attended OLL for almost a year. To say the least, it was a terrible disappointment. The academics were the same as the public school, but the teachers and staff were markedly less concerned with her well-being than those at Slidell Junior High. Let me repeat that - the public school teachers cared far more about my daughter than those at a school you pay thousands to attend. The Assistant Principal is not only rude, he is even aggressive. The office staff is also inept. We withdrew our daughter and gave the school three-weeks notice, however they were still unable to process her withdrawal quickly enough to start her new school on time - even though we called them several times. To compare, Bonne Ecole Elementary had our other daughter's package ready and waiting to fax to the new school, it took them all of 5 minutes. Bottom line, for a school that is supposedly associated with Christianity, there are few Christian values present. My impression - money talks at OLL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2010

School is okay. Supposed to be a Christian environment but that is only based on how much money you donate to this school. Also, they really drop the ball in Middle School especially in Math and Science.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

3Rd grade has been incredible. Our new , mrs. Schneider is a wonderful teacher. Her patience & understanding is a+++. The other 3rd grade teacher has a completely differernt style--not warm and fuzzy-yet effective. She too is an excellent teacher. I have been warned that the upper grades after 4th are -not so good. I am not sure abouth the years to come, but up to 3rd is spectacular!!! way to go oll
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2008

This is the 5th year that my child has attended this school. It has been my experience that it is much better in the lower grades. Once they get to 5th grade, it leaves very much to be desired. Last year the language teacher was absent more than she was there. This left the children with a substitute for more than half the year. Then, this same teacher is allowed back to teach again. C'mon.... Is this really what you are paying for? I think that the current principal has been there way too long. They need to get this crusty guy out and put some newer, more fresh idea minded people in. My child will be attending another public school soon...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2008

Couldn't have chosen a better school for my 4 children. Two boys and then two girls all attended pre-k through 8th grades. Two have graduated from Pope John Paul High School and did very well due to the excellent background they received at Lourdes. They were well prepared to compete with the students from St. Margaret and Lake Castle. One had the highest GPA in the school their senior year while taking 5 honor courses. They didn't just fall out of the sky and they were never classified as gifted. They were schooled at Our Lady of Lourdes. I commend the Principal, faculty and staff that work hard with the parents so that the students will have success in the academic life. YES their school bags are heavy. They do have homework almost every night. That's part of why they succeed. The school also has excellent exta curricular activities. Go see!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2008

My child started in the 1st grade 11 days before Hurricane Katrina. When we returned in December she was greeted w/ cheers by the other children. What a pleasure this school has been. This school was the reason we moved to Slidell from Mandeville. The school environment is wonderful, the church community is fantastic. Fathers Frank & Kyle are the two best priests I've ever listened to at mass. My child is getting a good education and wonderful guidance in her faith. I do feel that there is too much homework and we have to 'teach' our child in the evenings. AR program expectations are too much. Kids need to be kids too. The amount of homework leaves little time to have fun. I would recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2007

Lower grades ok -- after 4th grade, look elsewhere -- unchristian behavior. Less emphasis should be put on trying to push SAT scores up and more emphasis on actually educating the children in lower grades. Tutoring is highly recommended -- you shouldn't have to pay for tutoring when paying tuition. After several years, had enough and finally pulled all kids (3 of them) out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2007

I have only 1 child who just completed 1st grade. The teacher, Mrs. Cherie legendre, was spectacular! She utilized traditional and alternative teaching techniques throughout the school year creating excitment and enthusiasm from the students. I have no first-hand knowledge of the higher grades, but the pre-k and kindergarden are also excellent. My daughter will attend 2nd grade next school year. I wish all teachers could be as creative and caring as Mrs. Legendre!! R. Lupo
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2006

Fantastic curriculum, dedicated teachers, and outstanding principle. I was blessed with an education from Our Lady of Lourdes more than 30 years ago and now my children get the opportunity to benefit from this educationally stimulating environment. I am MORE than pleased -- even after the struggles and trials of our horrific hurricane that damaged our original buildings and church. This church/school community has thrived even under the worst disaster our city as ever witnessed.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 44%
Asian 4% N/A
Black 3% 51%
Hispanic 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Quiz Bowl Team -2nd place (2012)
  • Academic Olympics Honors - Reading (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:05 am
School end time
  • 3:05 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Honors track
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Boy scouts
  • Cub scouts
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • National Honor Society
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
65
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
72
Students typically come from these schools
local daycare centers

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$4000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Pope John Paul II High School
Salmen High School
Northshore High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

345 Westchester Blvd
Slidell, LA 70458
Phone: (985) 643-3230

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Salmen High School
Slidell, LA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT