Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

St. Amant Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 23, 2013

This school is wonderful! My daughter attends this school and loves it! The staff is great and really go out of their way to help you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2013

This school has a GS rating of 8 and is classified as a B school by the state ranking system. It is also a Top Gains school. Both of my children went here and the administrators and staff have always been caring and fair toward students. They go above and beyond to assist students so that they are successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2012

Avoid this school if at all possible!!! We moved to the Gonzales area a few weeks after school started. Our daughter was in the 6th grade and loves school!! Or at least she did until we moved here. We have dealt with bullies and such at our last school and she had NEVER said that she did not want to go to school. When she started at St Amant, she NEVER had a good day. She was always coming home stressed out and depressed!! The final straw was when she told me that she did not EVER want to go back to that school!! We had no luck with the administration either. Such a shame as this are seemed to be a very family friendly area. I am very do appointed in myself for picking this school. I researched schools for months before we moved. I had a "gut feeling" about this school from the first day I went to go register my kids there. I just brushed it off as "first day jitters". I was soooo wrong!! We are looking at local private schools. Maybe the problems from the EBR schools are heading south as more people are moving out to surrounding areas. I don't know. PLEASE DO YOURSELF & YOUR KIDS A FAVOR & AVOID THIS SCHOOL IF AT ALL POSSIBLE!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2012

I was VERY disappointed in this school. We chose this school because of the reviews. This school is not a very friendly school to new comers. The kids there cuss all the time, even in front of teachers & nothing is done about it!!! Cell phones are allowed in school & classroom as long as they are on silent. Really?? After we moved them out, I went back and read reviews again & checked the GS rating.... some how I never saw that their grade GS rating was only a 5!!! NOT good!! So glad to kiss this mess of a "school" good bye!! Before you enroll your child her, tour the school & compare it to the others in the area (Dutchtown is AWESOME!!!) The school we moved from held the kids accountable for their actions..... not here!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2012

My daughter has a mild learning disability and I must say that St Amant has gone above and beyond for her. She actually finished last year with a 3.0 GPA because of the dedication of her teachers, Ms. Haydel, Smith and Causey. I am very pleased with her education, the facility, and the faculty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2010

Great teachers, Love the principal and looking forward to a great year. My son is doing very well here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

It has a well informed staff and the ability to keep the students attention.


Posted March 10, 2010

This school is great. My daughter has so many things to look forward to (dances, games, etc.) I have to say the teachers are very dedicated to the students. Thanks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2009

I attended this school and must say that there is none like it. I am moving back to this area just so that my kids can attend the St. Amant School district.


Posted May 25, 2008

As a formal student of the school myself. I know this school has to be the best in the parish. I must say alot has changed and its all for the good. My two daughters just finish 8th grade and my son headed to the the Middle school this coming year I am please to say I still love the school and the staff. Please dont change alway be your best
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2008

The school is good. The faculty/staff is great! Student behavior might be a different story though. The school has structure and a daily routine that is easy to follow. Academic Success has become very important to the administration, offering Academic Success Enrichment to students that need it as well as 20 minutes of reading daily either before or after lunch (depending on grade levels). Each teacher is assigned to the subject that they are highly qualified to teach in.


Posted February 1, 2007

I think that this school is pretty good. They have good uniforms and a good schedule throught the day. They have well, educated teachers. I also like the after school activities that they offer also. I would enjoy more support from Parents, because it's like a thrill to the day. -Thank You
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
72%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 47%
Black 27% 45%
Hispanic 3% 4%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Christy Bourgeois
Fax number
  • (225) 621-2593

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

44317 Louisiana 429
St. Amant, LA 70774
Phone: (225) 391-6500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Amant High School
St. Amant, LA


Faith Academy
Gonzales, LA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT