Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Zachary High School 2

Posted November 08, 2013
- a parent
There is zero accountability within the Zachary Community School System. They care more about being #1 than the welfare of their students. Everything revolves around politics and the importance of the school's image. Their focus for the school year is prepping for the state test. Outside of that they are not taught much. Zachary students are not taught to use critical thinking skills and the admins have no desire to foster the spirit of the individual. They would prefer it if all students dressed alike, thought alike, and acted alike. Now that being said, there are good teachers who care within the school system. They do have an excellent program for gifted/talented students. The honors program could use some work and their selection of electives are decent. Zachary Schools are #1 and should be. They study for nothing but the test until around Mar./April and they are the only school within the system since they had themselves separated from East Baton Rouge Parish. Zachary is highly overrated. Claiming you're #1 in a state that ranks 49th nationally does not seem much of an achievement.

Zachary High School 5

Posted October 14, 2009
- a community member
Zachary is the best school. We have our ups and downs and that happens everywhere. They are helpful and keeps the kids out of trouble. This is almost like collage the way eveything is presented. There is no time wasting because once school starts you do work bell to bell. Yes the have a few crazy rules but other than that the school is really great you should think about inrolling your child


Zachary High School 0
no rating

Posted May 27, 2009
- a parent
I think the school is just average. I find the administration and the guidance counselors to be snooty and have an unhelpful attitude. The only reason they are '#1' in the state is because there is only one high school and they teach to the test. Any school district sould be number one if they only have one school...Jeez.

Zachary High School 5

Posted July 23, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Zachary High School 5

Posted May 02, 2008
- a student
I bellive Zachary High school is the best school your child could ever attend in the state of Louisiana. If you are wanting your child to suceed in the future they should come to Zachary High School because their district is number one in the state


Zachary High School 0
no rating

Posted April 17, 2008
- a community member
I think that Zachary High is wonderful in academic and Football but they need more teachers who care about their students. Most teachers and the principal is more worried about being ranked # 1 in the district until they are putting students out of class and suspending them for just about anything. They say that they are there for the students but seems to me that they are thare just to keep a name for theselves.

Zachary High School 5

Posted March 17, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Zachary High School 1

Posted January 31, 2008
- a parent
Im am a student of zachary high. And I think that the school is very overcrowded. There is always construction going on around the school. Dont get me wrong though, there are some teachers that care alot about there students and want there students to get out of school but others just dont care about the average student. The principal is so worried about dress infractions, and getting to class on time that he doesn't even know your Submitted by a student


Zachary High School 5

Posted December 28, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Zachary High School 3

Posted November 08, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Zachary High School
4100 School Street, Zachary, LA  70791
(225) 654-2776
Last modified Zachary High School is a Public school that serves grades 8-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Zachary High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top