Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Brewer, ME
Students enrolled: 721
 

3 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

15 reviews of this school


Brewer High School 3

Posted February 23, 2013
- a community member
I graduated from Brewer High in 1971, live out of state now, went back last summer for the first time in 15 years and can not understand why they still have that OLD SCHOOL after all this time I don't know when it was built but it's been there a very long time. Brewer is a pretty large community and there is no excuse why they have not built a better school, certainly folks pay enough for taxes?? No need of it very sad to see that!!!

Brewer High School 1

Posted February 11, 2012
- a parent
Only one teacher utilizes interactive teaching, that I know of. The rest teach AP classes virtually without discussion or exchange. Imagine a coach reading kids instructions on how to throw a basketball into a hoop, then throwing hoop after hoop themselves...same idea with a poem, current affairs, etc. Some classes require engagement, students need to learn to form an opinion in order to learn to think. Brewer High School is full of good hearted teachers, just out-moded teaching techniques.


Brewer High School
no rating

Posted December 02, 2009
- a parent
Our third child is as Brewer High currently. We are more than pleased with the academics and athletics in Brewer. I would recommend Brewer schools to anyone.

Brewer High School 5

Posted June 18, 2009
- a community member
I have been to many different schools all over the country, and Brewer is by FAR the best. The teachers care, the courses are top-notch, and-although receiving a bad rap from surrounding schools- Brewer is a safe school, relatively drug-free. A few of the reviewers on this page are not pleased with Brewer, but you should pay attention to their complaints. One reviewer stated that 'Needing a police officer shows just how bad the school is.' It is common practice in ALL high schools now to have a resource officer. Another reviewer complained that 'the rules are too strict.' Most students have been recently concerned with the prohibition of iPods and hats. Brewer is actually a fairly lenient school. However, they are quick to discipline. I just graduated from Brewer this past week (Class of '09!), and I would suggest to any parent looking at any of the surrounding schools to choose Brewer.

Brewer High School 4

Posted April 06, 2009
- a parent
I am parent and college professor. Very happy with academics, teachers, and sports program at Brewer. My son works really hard as a freshman in advanced classes that are equivalent to senior level. Great physics and math teachers. English and art are very good. Teachers really care if the student puts effort into their work. Many kids from Brewer go on to Ivy League.


Brewer High School 1

Posted March 31, 2009
- a parent
I have a Junior at Brewer High. I don't feel he is getting the disapline and positive attention he needs to pass his classes. Class Roll is a very good idea, if all the teachers updated it daily. We parents can monitor the assignments and grades better if they all used it, or answered their e-mails.

Brewer High School
no rating

Posted November 28, 2008
- a community member
Brewer High is the best thig that ever happend to me. The outdoor education program is the leader of its kind, top notch! Thanks, Ms. Mclaughlin, and Mr. Savage. You have given so much to so many.

Brewer High School 5

Posted May 29, 2008
- a community member
I am an Alumni of Brewer High School, and I couldn't have picked a better environment for learning. The school offers many AP classes, has a good athletic base, and offers a safe environment. Minus a select few, the teachers all try their best when it comes to teaching their students. If a student fails, most of the time it is not because a teacher didn't try, but because the kid did not care. Brewer s aptitude for preparing kids for higher learning can be seen by where students go after they graduate. They have attended Harvard, Bates, Bowdoin, Boston College and many other highly regarded private and public schools.


Brewer High School 4

Posted May 22, 2008
- a student
Brewer high school is a very good school when it comes to education, students fail by choice. In most sports Brewer does poorly, however, running sports maintain a very good record.

Brewer High School 5

Posted November 19, 2007
- a community member
I think Brewer High School is one of the best in Maine. The teachers there are attentive and caring. I think it's a privilage to of had the chance to attend school there.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Brewer High School
79 Parkway South, Brewer, ME  04412
(207) 989-4140
Last modified Brewer High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Brewer High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top