Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
5-8
Public
Holden, ME
Students enrolled: 276
 

3 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Holbrook School 5

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
My daughter's school; Holbrook, is full of inspiration. Their G& T program is incredible, a real teal effort. My experience is, focus and family involvement with the teaching team equals success. Feel entitled? Feel like sitting back and having an education handed to you ? THIS is not the place. Holbrook staff work hard to succeed, my kid works hard to succeed. The retirees in town, well they work hard to discourage so we need to become innovative and exceed expectations. The retirees want to pull any sort of funding for the kids for out future, that is so the wrong approach. HOLBROOK, SAD63, is innovative learning.

Holbrook School 1

Posted May 18, 2014
- a teacher
It has come to my attention that the administration makes a great effort to hide all inappropriate behavior that occurs at school. They do not tell parents when they ask for specific details of what problems their own child is having. They are completely lying in an attempt to help elevate the schools reputation. If a troubled student has a clean record in his file, then it is much easier to have them be accepted by the area high schools, thus eliminating the need to tuition students out to very expensive alternative educational programs. This is reason alone to dismiss the current principal and superintendent.


Holbrook School 5

Posted October 29, 2012
- a parent
I think Holbrook is a good school. The teachers and staff are compentent and caring, and the principal is wonderful. Just because of a few squeeky wheels it has a bad reputation. Some of the people complaining of bullying do a lot of bullying themselves as adults.

Holbrook School 1

Posted August 31, 2012
- a parent
Every time I talk to a parent, I hear more concerns about our school. I am glad that I am not the only one who feels that our school is out of control. The inmates are running this school. I couldn't agree more that the leadership in our school needs to be changed.

Holbrook School 2

Posted August 30, 2012
- a parent
This is a middle school with poor leadership and guidance. There is relentless bullying and harassment by the students.


Holbrook School 5

Posted August 28, 2012
- a parent
Best I could ask for. Caring staff and students. Lots of programs for any child to find their true passion. WONDERFUL!

Holbrook School 1

Posted July 13, 2012
- a parent
My children have been relentlessly bullied at Holbrook. We have talked to the Principal, but he does nothing to correct the problems. Poor leadership. The good teachers are leaving as fast as they can. I am sorry I live in this district.

Holbrook School 5

Posted January 21, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Holbrook School 1

Posted March 10, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Holbrook School 5

Posted December 07, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Holbrook School
202 Kidder Hill Rd, Holden, ME  04429
(207) 843-7769
Last modified Holbrook School is a Public school that serves grades 5-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Holbrook School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top