Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Orono High School 5

Posted November 12, 2013
- a student
How could anybody possibly give this school a bad review, I am a freshman at OHS, and I don't have one bad thing to say about the staff, they are caring. When you need one on one help, the teachers are glad to help during a study hall, before or after school. I feel that I am get the best possible education at this point, and I love it here. And there is a no bullying policy and they actually enforce it. We have a wonderful resource officer at our school full time, and he's awesome . Yes I will agree that the food is not gourmet, and its not that great, but its food, and I don't see how lunch can really play into choosing a school. But anyway I love this school and its awesome. I advise you to send your children here, you will not be disappointed!

Orono High School 5

Posted February 12, 2011
- a student
The people who give this school bad reviews clearly have no idea what they're talking about. Orono High School is a fantastic school and is part of a fantastic school system. The teachers are great and every single one cares about the student's education and wants to see them succeed in life after high school. As for people who attempt to say that their child might not get the best education at Orono, you get back what you put in. If the student doesn't try hard enough, obviously they aren't going to gain much knowledge. Orono high school has sent multiple students to Ivy League schools in the past years, including one student who was recently accepted to Cambridge. Clearly Orono offers a very good education for those who seek it.


Orono High School 1

Posted January 11, 2011
- a parent
I feel like this school (Orono High) Has no idea how to help there kids succeed in life, I know a girl who has medical problems, and the school will not work with her on trying to complete her high school education. They think she should be in school all the time, when her doctors are saying she can only go as tolerated. The principal is a JOKE! He acts like he knows everything thats going on, but really he doesn't. He makes the vice principal view everything. The principal will always listen to what you say. But when The girl went to him saying she needed some other sort of school education, he looked at her, and said.. "I think you can be in school the whole time, I think your mother is too easy on you, and my daughter just had hip surgery and she's back in college already." Yes his daughter might have had hip surgery. But different people have to have different operations. I know the girl that had the knee operation, and she's been having operations on her knees since the 5th grade. This is an on going medical problem. All Orono High School cares about is getting kids out of their hair ASAP. I advise you not to send your kid here, It will be a great waste of your time. :)

Orono High School 5

Posted August 26, 2010
- a student
Orono high school is amazing. When people say that it is a poor choice in a high school, it shows that they were not involved enough to get the full affect of the school. It has devoted staff that will go above and beyond for students. Some have been there 30+ years. Orono high school's student body is closely knit and 'cliques' rarely exist in this school. Orono high school is a great school choice.

Orono High School 1

Posted May 03, 2010
- a student
This school is a very poor choice in a high school. Most of the teachers really don't care about the students and the work is really easy. I've been to bangor high before, and let me tell you, if you've been there then Orono High school looks... beyond bad. The class choices are extremely limited, as are the extracurricular activities. The sports - bleh... not so fantastic. There are only 4 periods a day (8 periods every 2 days) and more than two thirds of the freshman classes are mandatory. So if you are both a musician and an artist, well sorry, you aren't going to like this school. I think the worst thing about this school is the lunch. Every time I got hot lunch, I felt sick to my stomach. It's very disgusting. Though lunch isn't really an important criteria in a good school, I had to mention it.


Orono High School 4

Posted September 05, 2009
- a student
Moving around in the school is a little intense but other then that teachers, students and other faculty are amazing

Orono High School 5

Posted February 17, 2005
- a parent
My child has been to a number of school systems. Orono was the only school that actually taught her to help teach herself. The depth of her studies is amazing. It really prepared her for college. The extracurricular activities are set up in a way that she was able to participate in more then one at a time. The faculty is very supportive of all the students persuits. I found I was included more in her school life at Orono then in other school systems. I am very happy my daughter went there.

Orono High School 5

Posted February 25, 2004
- a student
This school provides an excellent education for all students: stressing on the core studies instead of unecessary electives. Your child might not get a lot of choices like photography and cinema or basket weaving, but they will be well prepared for college and the future. The proof is in the number of graduates that have moved on to greater things than most of us thought possible.


Orono High School 2

Posted August 26, 2003
- a student
I don't believe my children get the best quality in this school. The staff is very selective and singles out people for different things, whether it good or bad. If your child plays a lot of sports and is good at them then your child will have no problem getting along with the staff. If not, and you want your child to get the one on one attention they deserve..I suggest another school.

Nearby schools

Orono High School
14 Goodridge Dr, Orono, ME  04473
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (207) 866-4916
Last modified Orono High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12
Top