Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Howard C Reiche Community School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a community member
I have been a guest teacher at Portland Schools, K-5 for over 2 years. I rate Reiche #1. Team Leaders, Teachers, and all Staff are dedicated and passionate professionals. The students are engaged in learning and altogether help to build a wonderful community!

Howard C Reiche Community School 5

Posted January 06, 2014
- a parent
The teachers and staff are truly dedicated to making this a community school. My two children attend this school and I feel we are really a part of the Reiche family. The staff is always accessible to discuss ideas and/or address any concerns. It is empowering to have a respected voice in my children's education.


Howard C Reiche Community School 5

Posted December 29, 2012
- a parent
We have had a tremendous experience at Reiche School. Two of our three children attend and our third will be enrolled next year. My school aged children are very different learners and each of their needs have been met. I feel that the teaching staff listens and I am awed by their performance on a day to day basis given the complexity of the student body. I feel that there is a strong bond between teachers, staff, parents, and guardians which sets a tremendous example to the children of this school. Our diversity binds us as a community and there is a strong commitment to have all of the children at Reiche succeed as passionate learners and compassionate young adults. We feel very lucky to be a part of this school.

Howard C Reiche Community School 2

Posted June 12, 2012
- a parent
love the diversity, but my son fell through the cracks at this school... too much emphasis on ESL/

Howard C Reiche Community School 5

Posted April 07, 2011
- a parent
All three of my children have attended Reiche. This school is not just where my children go during the day, it is a part of our lives. The spirit and energy that the teachers and staff bring to Reiche is amazing. I have one child with a learning disability, the extra services and attention that are provided are outstanding. If you are a parent that likes being active within your child's school, Reiche will embrace you warmly


Howard C Reiche Community School 0
no rating

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
I love Reiche school because i feel it is the most diversified school in portland. I feel it deserves more credit for what the school does for its students and staff. I had gone there and my 2 older children have been there and my youngest will go there. I would recommend reiche to any family.

Howard C Reiche Community School 0
no rating

Posted April 24, 2010
- a community member
Due to the recent rise in immigration here, Reiche School in Portland, Maine has an incredibly diverse student body. This school is one big melting pot, with truly dedicated teachers, aides, support staff, volunteers, etc.

Howard C Reiche Community School 4

Posted February 14, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Howard C Reiche Community School 5

Posted February 13, 2006
- a parent
We have had a great experience at Reiche so far. My son, who is in first grade, loves school and is excelling academically, socially and emotionally. My husband and I find that the atmosphere is charged and exciting and the teachers are excellent and highly motivated. We can't imagine sending him to another school.

Howard C Reiche Community School 3

Posted June 08, 2004
- a parent
On the whole, the teachers seem like they will die if they have to teach for another minute. There are a few teachers, however, who really seem to enjoy teaching and enjoy the children they teach. While the curriculum is probably geared to educate all of the children, I have noticed that (at least my child's teachers) will give extra help to those who need it and give extra work to those who excel. I have some concerns about the safety in general at the school. I see a lot of children being pushed and picked on daily, and a lot of times the teachers just continue their conversations rather than help. The cleaning/maintenance staff needs to do a better job cleaning up broken glass around the campus. I think the diversity is great at Reiche and am very happy that my daughter has the opportunity to have friends outside our own culture. My daughter really likes Reiche which is probably the only reason she's staying there. I think the biggest improvements need to be made in teacher attitude and quality, safety of the children, and respect for peers and adults by the children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Howard C Reiche Community School
166 Brackett St, Portland, ME  04102
(207) 874-8175
Last modified Howard C Reiche Community School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Howard C Reiche Community School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews.