Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Waynflete School

Private | PK-12 | 575 students

This school is a great combination of rigorous academics and close relationships
 
 

 

Living in Portland

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $215,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $910.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 4, 2014

Our daughter is in her fourth year at Waynflete. It is so rewarding to witness our child's enthusiasm and joy when she walks onto campus. The teachers are all very connected with the students and their families. Communication and family involvement is a huge part of the experience. Truly an amazing school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2014

My school is Waynflete and my son is beginning his second year there in the lower school. Teachers and staff are phenomenal. There is a strong sense of community here and from day one, all the adults on campus made an effort to get to know our entire family. Yes, the school is overwhelmingly white but that is reflective of Maine. Waynflete is committed to diversity. My son is transgendered and the school has been wonderful in supporting him in every way. We came from a public school and are best described as lower middle class. I was intimidated at first by the tuition and the school's reputation as a haven for the rich. The nicest surprise has been that all the kids and parents are so nice. Kids seem genuinely supportive of one another here and the community is so small that there is time and space for students to try everything, experiment with new ideas and be themselves. We feel very lucky to be a part of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2014

Three of our four children went through Waynflete from preschool through high school. (We also had a child in public school.) The most amazing part of the school is their ability to ignite learning regardless of what a child is interested in or good at doing. There is a HUGE difference in the education at Waynflete compared to what you get in a public school. Not that you can't get a good education in a public school, just a very different education. First of all Waynflete has studied and incorporated the latest research on how kids learn given the changes in technology and society. At Waynflete they teach kids critical thinking not just how to take standardized tests or do rote memorization. And they focus on students learning self advocacy, rather than parents doing it for them. All three of my kids learned to be comfortable with public speaking, write very well, care about others in the community and they each got into the college they wanted to go to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2014

I went to Waynflete and the community and teachers there are like no other. The curriculum is very challenging and I highly recommend it. The previous review about Mark Segar is completely false. Mark Segar was a wonderful headmaster and is a wonderful person. The reason I say was is because he retired and a new headmaster has taken his place. The campus is small but very welcoming. I will say for those students who struggle with academics North Yarmouth Academy has better support though they are Waynflete's rivals. Parents are less involved which I consider and good thing but many parents do not. I believe that this really lets students transform and evolve as scholars. I hope you take a good look at this school if you are in the area. I hope you found this helpful.


Posted June 7, 2013

I went to waynflete. The teachers are good and the school is good but Mark Segar is the worst headmaster ever. I would avoid waynflete just because of him.


Posted October 28, 2011

All 4 of my children, male and female have loved going to Waynflete. I have been a parent of children at this school for over 20 years. All of my children have been allowed to be true to themselves, have wonderful friends, and have been instilled with love of learning. Three of my children have graduated from Waynflete to date. All three have succeeded in college. They were well prepared to take full advantage of college life. They had the discipline and desire to do well not just academically, but to discover new areas, to get involved in their community, to make new friends, and to excel. The students at Waynflete are encouraged to respect each other. It is a wonderful community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2010

This is an amazing school. I have been there 10 years and do not want to change. I love the teachers and the kids. We learn how to balance studies and social life along with learning everyday skills we'll need later on in life. The teachers are always willing to meet with students on free time if we need any help with an assignment (or really anything at all).
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 5, 2010

I have only been at this school two years and I already know there is nothing bad to be said about it. I actually like going to school! I love the theater, and I participate in drama club and I take dance instead of PE.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 25, 2008

During my fourteen-year student experience at Waynflete, the faculty, staff, and student body were nothing short of stellar. This is a school that celebrates the 'whole child,' regardless of whether that student is academic, athletic, artistic, social, or none of the above. There is something for everyone at this school, and the faculty/staff will, without fail, bend over backwards to accommodate any reasonable need or desire. Academically, my schooling led me to be a competitive (and admitted) applicant at top colleges across the county. Once in college, my research and writing skills were equal to or above those of students from top-ranked boarding and preparatory schools - and it's all because of the practice, instruction, and advice I received from my teachers at Waynflete. I respect and love my teachers at Waynflete as friends and equals. The tuition here is well worth it - this school made my life what it is.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 6, 2007

The wayneflete classroom is excellent, however, the administration leaves much to be desired. The teachers are fantastic but sadly the gatekeepers of the school set the tone ' I'm not okay...you're not okay'. Check into the progress of this school, it has a lot of potential with a shake up of the admissions staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2007

Whether your child is the star goalie on the soccer team taking advanced chemistry or the kid doing yoga as a winter sport and taking French drama while starring in the upcoming school play, or someone in between or totally different, Waynflete is the solution for any child. Whether shooting hoops, checking out the latest display in the Gallery, playing hide-and-seek in Cook-Hyde building, or eating a Wombat (breakfast sandwich) in the cafe, at any moment on your free period, there are multiple ways to have fun - and learn. Classes offer one-on-one attention from teachers and a welcoming community. The staff, from the custodians to the head of school, contribute to every part of your child's learning experience.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 92%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 2%
Two or more races 5% 1%
Black 4% 3%
Hispanic 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Bowdoin College
Colby College
University of Vermont
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Arabic languages
Chinese (Mandarin)
French
Hebrew
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • State Science Olympiad Championship (2014)
  • State Math Champions (2013)
  • State Poetry Out Loud Winner (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Literary magazine
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Hebrew
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Yoga club

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
Clubs
  • Debate
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:25 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Geoffrey Wagg, Head of School
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (207) 774-4782

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Hebrew
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Advisors work closely with stu
  • Career/college counseling
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • College/career center
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Sailing
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Sailing
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Film Club
  • Game club
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Jazz Combo
  • Lesbian, gay, transgender club
  • Literary magazine
  • Math club
  • Mock trial competition club
  • Model UN
  • Outing Club
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
  • Yoga club
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
More from this school
  • Waynflete offers an academic program that challenges and engages students from Preschool through Grade 12. The curriculum reflects the developmental needs of each division. Younger children explore ideas in ways that engage their heads, hearts and minds. Middle School is a blend of hard work and play, designed to build skills and self-confidence. In the rigorous college-prep high school students explore subjects broadly and deeply, in studies ranging from The Odyssey to astrophysics.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


4 out of 10students were accepted for the 2014-2015 school year.


Students accepted for the 2014-2015 school year
84
Applications received for the 2014-2015 school year
189

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$9000 - $25000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Bowdoin College
Colby College
University of Vermont
College preparation / awareness offered
College presentations or information sessions
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

360 Spring Street
Portland, ME 04102
Website: Click here
Phone: (207) 774-5721

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




King Middle School
Portland, ME




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT