Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Maranacook Community Middle School 1

Posted March 07, 2014
- a community member
This school Is downright terrible. I don't even know where to start. Ok first off I will talk about the teachers here. With only a few exceptions the teachers here are terrible and shouldn't be allowed to teach. They are more concerned about getting you in trouble then giving you a quality education. And they are not understanding at all. Secondly their curriculum is terrible. You vote for a subject and learn about that. Instead of history, social studies, English I've learned about aliens and nascar. I'm never gonna be prepared for high school. And the behavior problem is terrible. The teachers think they have it under control but they don't. There are bullies everywhere every corner there is a fist fight going on. Almost everyone one hear smokes and drinks. The hallways smell like pot. And only about 4 percent of the stuff that goes on here gets caught. Please please do not send your child or anyone you care about to this school. It is setting them up for failure.

Maranacook Community Middle School 4

Posted January 30, 2014
- a community member
Just an FYI ... Some of these ratings are relatively old. If you look at the ratings that are 2006 or older you get a 2-star rating. Looking at the ratings that are 2009 and newer you get a 4-star rating. To me, this indicates change and improvement that might not be recognized by the overall rating of 3-stars. (as of 01-2014) Shouldn't these ratings be aged off the record or at least age weighted to better reflect how the school is performing now?


Maranacook Community Middle School 5

Posted September 24, 2013
- a parent
This school does very well for both the special need and exceptional student. It understands how to adjust the core curriculum to the student. It tends to attract a number of special needs students because of this. Thus, why it's test scores do not adequately reflect the true value of the school.

Maranacook Community Middle School 1

Posted January 24, 2012
- a community member
I'm an honors student at Maranacook Middle school, and it is not hard to be one. Maranacook classes are very easy and they teach you stuff you have already learned. NO one pays attention in class and yet we ace worksheets easily. People think Maranacook is a smart school, but really we just have easy work.

Maranacook Community Middle School 5

Posted January 24, 2011
- a teacher
I am a teacher who has experience in other schools and work places. My family moved here in part because of the excellence of this school as a place for students to excel and as a place to work, if a person is willing to work harder them most any school. The level of comment here is very high. The looping and teams greatly adds to the well being of the students.


Maranacook Community Middle School 5

Posted January 24, 2011
- a parent
Unusually committed to the well being of students. The looping with students helps to build trust and I think makes for a health climate. Most of the teachers make a great effort. Some great material allows for kids to be challenged at whatever level they are at. I have never seen a school where teachers work harder. The principle is very open to input.

Maranacook Community Middle School 5

Posted January 14, 2011
- a parent
My daughters have made great gains at this school! Math instruction filled in the holes that they came with from elementary school. The integrated instruction was engaging and the project work incorporated many great skills from research and writing to presenting. I am very happy with their middle school experience!

Maranacook Community Middle School 1

Posted February 11, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Maranacook Community Middle School 1

Posted May 12, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Maranacook Community Middle School 1

Posted March 15, 2009
- a parent
My child has been in the Maranacook school system since Kindergarten. Elementary School was wonderful. High School is sufficient. The Middle School however was, and still is, lacking in many areas. This wouldn't be as much of a problem, if the staff, principal, superintendent and school board were willing to engage in an open dialoge with the community about the positives and negatives of the school and then be willing to make changes that reflect the values of the community. This middle school reflects the values of the principal which is very different from what the majority of the community want. I moved into this school system because of the wonderful elementary school and I stayed in the school system becasue I did not want my child to have to change schools (I had that experience and it can be very difficult). However, I would NEVER recommend this school to anyone.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Maranacook Community Middle School
2100 Millard Harrison Dr, Readfield, ME  04355
(207) 685-3128
Last modified Maranacook Community Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8
Maranacook Community Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top