Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mt Ararat Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 11, 2011

I love this school! great people work her and great kids go to school here. i would go here over and over if i could!


Posted November 16, 2008

I would never let my child go to this school. I am a former teacher for this school and really feel bad for any child that goes to this school. I only stayed one year and left for a school that was safer.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 30, 2008

Heres the down low on Mt.Ararat ... *Kids will be placed in 'cliques'. *Have friendships ripped apart.* Expierience drama (To the max...). *Most will begin swearing, or saying cruel or harsh frases (Wether you see this or not... it's happening) *Teachers use favoratism. *Curiculum... Not that great... *Homework... overwhelming... *And most importantly it is setting them on the track to go to the high school... about 3/4 of the kids are on drugs, and during sports season about half... They will most likely get picked on, bullied, peer pressured ect... This is the point of view of a real student... Parents don't ever know the whole story, and teachers always dress it up... but every mt.ararat student in at least 7th grade and 8th grade... know the truth! (p.s there has been a higher drug and alchohol use in the 8th grade, then mthe years befor (Smoking in the bathroom, beer in lockers ect...) and thats just the middle
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 31, 2006

Like several parents we know, we'd send our kids to Waynflete if we could afford it. Here at public school, we're all forced to comply with the system. The poor teachers earn the same as the great ones. How is this fair to anyone? Imagine 'attracting' your business(the kids)and if you couldn't do it, you'd be out. My child had one super teacher here. Some I wouldn't choose to hire. Kids learn quickly if they're allowed to teach. What about having the teachers spend at least 1 day on the other side of the room. It might help some remember how uncomfortable the chairs are, how quickly one can be made to feel stupid, how boring it often is. Organized sports? What about more attention to realistic futures? How about more good old fashion walks on nice days?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2005

Leadership could use improvement. Working with parents when a child gets in trouble is no longer used. This makes parents angry and put's undo stress on family life. Education should alway's be given to a child no matter what circumstances arrive. No child should be left behind but this school district does.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2004

My son goes there and we like the school very much. It is a great facility with a fantastic faculty and staff. I do however have a problem with the way band program is organized. While the instructor is wonderful, band has no assigned class time and a band participant is obligated to miss classes (including exams) and various other activities to attend practices and lessons. It is treated as if it as an academic endeavor with grades but for some reason is not worthy of a defined class period. My son (an honor student) is probably dropping band this year the avoid the weekly stress having to make-up assignments missed during band periods.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2004

I go to Mt.Ararat Middle School and it is a really nice and big school. I am glad I am a Eagle because you are noticed by not only teachers but also friends. The staff is really friendly and the food is great. The only thing I don't like is that we only have 3 min. to get from one class to the next it's really a pain but other then that MTA is a great school
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 6, 2004

MtA has really good school spirit, and you can learn a lot there, IF you try to learn, you will learn, a lot. The teachers are usually fair. The dress code is quite strict.. Which isn't that great. The food, however, is pretty good, except there is not much variety. -Robyn L. [Class of 2008]
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 4, 2004

I go to Mt. Ararat Middle school currently (until june 16th, then I'm no longer in this school, and I go to high school in the fall.) and honestly, it is both a good school and a strange school at the same time. They have great extra curricular activities that are offered here, but sometimes the teachers can be unfair or rude without a given explanation. But, if you pay attention 24/7 in your classes, you will learn so much...but not every class is mentally exciting, and might cause your brain to wander. But all in all, MAMS is a great school to go to.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

183 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

183 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

204 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

203 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 70% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the Maine Educational Assessment (MEA) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MEA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 92%
Hispanic 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Black 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 8%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

66 Republic Ave
Topsham, ME 04086
Phone: (207) 729-2950

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Compass Point Academy
Brunswick, ME





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT