Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Whiting Village School

Public | PK-8 | 43 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 9, 2010

A two room school that has survived the test of time. A gem in Down East Maine
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

Simply put, you find more special qualities in a two-room schoolhouse. It provides a more nurturing environment for children, and more personalized time for one-on-one learning. The staff at Whiting Village consist of dedicated, wonderful people who love their jobs and are great at what they do. How do I know this? My mother teaches there. She couldn't imagine teaching anywhere else. She so enjoys her job, she will be staying there beyond retirement age. Even if Whiting Village does not win this award, I salute the teachers, students, parents, and the Whiting community; you have all helped to create an incredible school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

small school with great kids and teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

Whiting is a very special place where kids from pre-k to 8th grade an amazing education! In a world where bigger is always presumed to be better, we prove that isn't always the case!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

Because it is a small two room school house with the best teachers. Every child gets a womderful education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

As Whiting Village alumni, I cannot say enough about this great school. Small town school. Big time education. Smaller class sizes leave lots of one-on-one time between teachers and students. Having only two classrooms, means that various grades are intermingled and the older students help the younger students and the younger ones have great role models in their elder peers. It's a school where everybody knows everybody. There are no wall-flowers. Everyone is incorporated, involved, indivisible and indispensable! Go Whiting Warriors!


Posted April 24, 2010

This small school really works in terms of educational performance, nurturing and discipline of its students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

pre k -8 two room school in rural, coastal Maine where teachers and aids are fully involved. Children of all ages and grade levels learn to interact in a healthy and positive way.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 92%
Hispanic 7% 1%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% 1%
Black 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

145 US Route 1
Whiting, ME 04691
Phone: (207) 733-4617

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Edmunds Consolidated School
Edmunds Township, ME







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT