Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
787 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
35 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 70 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Park School of Baltimore 5

Posted December 06, 2015
- a parent
Love love love this school. My children are truly learning-- learning to think critically, to analyze problems, to create solutions, to manage their time, to meet deadlines, to rise above expectations, to challenge themselves and others around them, and to engage in the process of learning in all aspects of life. Whether it is the progressive philosophy, the top quality teachers, or the stimulating environment, who knows-- but the pervasive theme running through the lower, middle, and upper schools is that kids thrive. They work hard, they play hard, and they become successful, lifelong learners. Thank you to the administration, staff, and faculty for doing such a great job!

Park School of Baltimore 5

Posted December 06, 2015
- a parent
I have never heard once from my children in the past 5 years that they have been at Park that they don't want to go to school - every day they are happy to attend, running into school! Teachers are superb and caring; they get to know each child well and his/her strengths and weaknesses. Teachers see and develop the potential in each child. The administration is extremely responsive and has the best interests of children and families at heart. The parents form a warm, supportive community. I can't imagine a better place to send my children in Baltimore.


Park School of Baltimore 5

Posted December 02, 2015
- a parent
We couldn't be happier about our decision to send our children to Park. The Lower School administration and faculty are superb. My children have grown so much not only academically, but also mentally and emotionally. They are excited about going to school everyday. We can't wait to see the wonderful experiences our children will have as they go through Park's Middle and Upper School. Would highly recommend Park to any parent looking for a private school for their child.

Park School of Baltimore 2

Posted November 15, 2015
- a parent
Enrollment numbers are in a state of extreme decline relative to other Baltimore schools. Faculty and administration turnover is extremely high. The environment is negative and hostile. Rather than acknowledge that these trends indicate extreme problems with the faculty and administration, the response is to blame students for not meeting the Park Model, which itself is highly rigid and peculiar to the whims of however someone decides to define "progressive education." Too many of the remaining students left (approximately 10%) are faculty children who go for free, creating an unbalanced environment that others are expected to subsidize.

Park School of Baltimore 5

Posted November 01, 2015
- a parent
I am the parent of two Park School students. Both began Park in the lower school and are currently in the upper school. Park has provided a top-notch education for my children. What is most impressive is the way that Park supports the education of the students. The structure that is felt in each classroom allows for a partnership between the teacher and student. The teacher acts as a guide on the students journey - teaching the students about inquiry, advocacy, exploration and both independent and group learning. All while the student is studying math, science, English, history, modern language and the arts. These students develop a passion for learning that goes far beyond the classroom environment.


Park School of Baltimore 5

Posted October 29, 2015
- a parent
My senior is getting ready to graduate after being at Park School since first grade. I am thrilled to see her go off to college, and have no doubt that she will get into one of the amazing colleges to which she is applying (stayed tuned for an update!). When she goes off to school, not only will I miss her, I will miss our family's affiliation with Park. Her time there has helped her grow into the thoughtful, insightful, self-advocating learner that is so common amongst Park School graduates. I highly recommend this school!

Park School of Baltimore
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted October 29, 2015
- a parent
Probably, honestly, teacher dependent, but across the board, students work hard, but homework is not unmanageable, particularly if approached in a planned manner by the student.

Park School of Baltimore
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted October 29, 2015
- a parent
I have never been in a school that values student driven learning like Park School does. Whether in the class, or on the athletic field, students are encouraged to be the best they can be, to dig deeper.


Park School of Baltimore
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted October 29, 2015
- a parent
Rules for community learning govern the school. Things that make teaching, or learning, difficult are not allowed. Compassion, caring and empathy are natural outgrowths of this expectation.

Park School of Baltimore
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 29, 2015
- a parent
Park School is based on the principle that positive expectations lead to positive behavior. When there is the infrequent occurrence that doesn't align with this expectation, the student is treated fairly. Punishment is not handed down, but consequences are given consistent with the infraction, and always, always, in the best interest of the student and their growth.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Park School of Baltimore
2425 Old Court Road, Baltimore, MD  21208
(410) 339-7070
Last modified Park School of Baltimore is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Park School of Baltimore Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 70 reviews. Top