Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Federal Hill Preparatory School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 22, 2016
- a parent
Ms. O'Doherty is a shining star among the beloved staff of FHPS. She cares about her third grade students, challenging students to do their personal best. She taps them to fulfill their potential and become stronger students. Ms. O leads an after school homework club, too. Additionally, she has a strong arts background and is supportive of an arts integration effort for the whole school. The students of FHPS are fortunate to have Ms. O adding to their education and support system.

Federal Hill Preparatory School 5

Posted May 22, 2016
- a parent
Both of my children started in pre-k and have flourished at FHPS. The staff is excellent, the administration is dialed in both locally and with North Avenue, and the PTO is very active.


Federal Hill Preparatory School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted April 18, 2016
- a parent
The teachers are incredibly caring and understanding of the students' diverse backgrounds and experiences. They provide excellent models for the students.

Federal Hill Preparatory School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 18, 2016
- a parent
The school has a daily affirmation in which the students promise to behave with integrity and honesty. I also see the teachers supporting these traits.

Federal Hill Preparatory School 5

Posted April 18, 2016
- a parent
We could not be happier with the education our daughters are receiving at Prep. The PTO is very active in supporting the school and the current principal is always available and responsive. I think many of these reviews were from past administrations. (My girls wear patterned tights and boots, for example, with no problems.) I think it is a terrible shame that the school is ranked so low and does a great injustice to the parents and teachers working so hard to make it the educational, supportive place that it is.


Federal Hill Preparatory School 5

Posted October 29, 2014
- a parent
People have had mixed feelings about this school but i can tell you that after 3 years at that school we could not have been happier. This is a really good school, there is not need to send your little ones to another school, they will succeed at federal hill prep.

Federal Hill Preparatory School 5

Posted April 13, 2014
- a teacher
My school is an undiscovered gem in Baltimore. It is as close to a private school as you can get and still be public and free! We are small in size but large in accomplishments. We are teaching an urban population to become a global society. We not only touch the future we shape the future.

Federal Hill Preparatory School 5

Posted April 11, 2014
- a parent
My children have excelled at this school. My oldest child has scored in the 99th percentile in Math on standardized test and high in reading too. My youngest has thrived in this school in terms of behavior and learning in a way he didn't when he went to a private preschool.


Federal Hill Preparatory School 4

Posted April 07, 2014
- a parent
Federal Hill Prep is a great community school! I confess we were considering other options given what we'd seen and heard about the direction the school had taken, but with the new principal starting in 2013, the school has really changed for the better. I can see that our child is learning a great deal, and the teachers are passionate about their jobs and are very caring. Overall I notice an environment that fosters curiosity and creativity. And the very strong PTO and community involvement really makes the school welcoming. Plus, the school is so small it seems that teachers and staff know each and every student. Finally, they have a great deal of activities that make school fun: from the Green Eggs & Ham Breakfast, to Science Night, Bingo and more. I would recommend this school; a hidden gem.

Federal Hill Preparatory School 4

Posted January 17, 2014
- a parent
Federal Hill Prep is a great place. We recently moved to Baltimore and have been extremely happy with the number of cultural activities, field trips and education opportunities that have been made available to our students. The teachers and administrators care about the success of each student and will listen to and address any concerns you have with instruction, environment, staff, etc. And they are getting a salad bar! It's a great environment with great teachers, students, parents and leadership.

Nearby schools

Federal Hill Preparatory School
1040 William St, Baltimore, MD  21218
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. (410) 396-1207
Last modified Federal Hill Preparatory School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top