Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Glenmount Elementary/Middle School

Public | PK-8 | 547 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 15, 2014

MY SON ATTENDS GLENMOUNT E/M SCHOOL!! HE HAS BEEN THERE SINCE 6TH GRADE, HE'S CURRENTLY A 7TH GRADER.2013-2014
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2014

I am sad to say that Glenmount Elementary/ Middle School would receive a Fail rating in this area. I specifically sought out the resource person with conecrns for my grandson . She reported (in December, 2013) that she had not started intervention , hands-on support yet for his needs. She wrote the student's name and politely assured me that she would be in touch and that my grandson would be at the top of her starting list. I learned that she did share my concerns with his 2nd grade teacher. 2nd quarter ( 2014) is starting, and I have no further feedback. My grandson has a U in conduct in every class. I simply would like tools to help channel his inappropriate acting out behaviors that could lead to bullying. Please help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2013

THIS SCHOOL HAS GREATLY IMPROVED WITH THE NEW ADMINISTRTION. I AM DELIGHTED TO SEE THE PROGRESS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2012

im a student here and i dont like this school but its the only one i can go to. kids walk out when mad and they are also told not to the kidsget into fight and the office just supsepnds kids are rude some teachers dont do their job the kids r destoryers the do not listen the atutorium is a mess its not a school with a lot of money and i do not recommend this school -a student


Posted May 26, 2010

I was really pleased with the elementary side of this school. Teachers were good administrative support was good. The middle school is not as good. The students attending and their parents bare a lot of responsibility for this. I will be doing everything I can to take my kids out of the middle school next year. the combined format is not the best thing either. Teachers need to be able to either discipline or remove unruly students. very few good teachers and administrative staff at the middle school level. Their job is made more difficult by the disrespectful students who don't understand the importance of their education. - Pat
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2010

the school is not very good the principle doesnt do anything to help for the school all her arrens she makes the vice principle do it or secritary or nurse so i just think she should be fired because she is never around and when she is she doesnt do anything either
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2010

There are good efforts being made at this school by teachers. However there is not enough parental support school leadership. There is not enough prior notification on when PTO meetings are held. There are no hall monitors at this school and security is an issue. The school leaders are never around and the pretty much non-existant. We go to this school twice daily and have only seen both a handful of times. There are no extracurricular activities at this school. Parents are supposed to be involved in deciding where the school budget is spent, however we have yet to receive any imformation on this. We have received fundrasers, bake sales, and other stuff to sell but there is NO information on what proceeds go to. The main issues with this school have to do with its leadership. If the leadership assigned to this school was involved on a daily basis I believe these issues would and could be resolved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2009

This used to be a real school; now it's pre-justice system day care!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

i love this school my kids went there and had a great time.there werent any racial things said or done to my kids.they enjoyed it from 3rd grade and up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2009

This school is excellence but the teachers would need more help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

I can not stand to send my middle school child to this school. I feel bad for the teachers and what they have to go through. The kids there are horrible. I watched my daughters class today. The kids did not stay in sits, their lauagage is terribe, they have no respect. I am trying to find away to get my daugther out of there. My second child just started Pre-K her teacher is great. The middle school I just can t get over it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

I thought this school was an axcellent school until I enrolled my child there. This school is terrible. Teachers need to act like teachers and stop trying to act the same age as the students. A lot of the kids don't have any respect, but what makes it worse is when you see the teachers acting the same way as the students do. The principal is a whole differnt story, she walks around with her head in the air and do not seem to have any concern for her students. The classes are overbooked and to crowded. I just wish that I did research before I enrolled my child in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

For the most part I am ok with my son attending this school. The teachers try their very best to work with what they are given. However, I do feel that the lack of parent involvement is really sad. The teachers really could use more help in their classrooms and more support from the parents. I am very unhappy about the lack of security and how interaction the middle schoolers have with the elementary students. There definetly needs to be more discpline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2008

I can say that I do love the teachers here at Glenmount. They try their best to give individual attention to every student. However the students of today's century have changed alot since my sisters went here yrs ago. I give the teacher a lot of credit for sticking it out. They have a lot of bad mannered, ill educated children that attend here. The middle school students use terrible language around the elementary students. They use curse words that I don't even say. There is constantly a fight going on. The police are always at the school for some reason or another. Also be careful not to let the outside doors slam on your fingers u might be missing a few afterwards. (very hazardous) My child also has been sick every month since he has started school here. He/she is zoned for this school, however I really wish they weren't.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2008

this school has really declined since they moved the original principal Mr. Crouse and Mrs. Walker to different schools, the children in the middle school mainly 7th and 8th graders give the school a bad reputation, one in which it did not have 5 yrs back. A small majority of the students in these grades don't even live in the zone for them to attend the school and this makes it bad on the students who live in the zone, not to say that there are not some in the zone who don't make it bad but if one really looked at the number of kids not in this immediate area one would be surprised at where most of the trouble stems from. The Hall monitors that are there at the school now 2007-2008 do nothing but walk the halls and talk to the middle school kids as
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2007

The teachers, students and parents at this school are mostly wonderful. The administration needs to be less afraid of suspending the students who make problems and are violent. They have lost great teachers in the elementary grades since the new principal came. The special educators are still fantastic from Mr. Mason and Miss Korner in Elementary to Mrs. Delaney and Mrs. Copeland in Middle school. Even the people who are at IEP meetings care about parents and kids. I wish the administration would realize how great there staff and students are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2007

My daughter is in first grade. The teachers are very caring, and giving. This school use to be much better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2007

Very good school, good moral support from teachers and staff. This school has a excellent princple Charlotte Williams. She is very good with the kids. She care about the whole child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2006

My child started Pre-K Aug. 28, 2006. One of my biggest problem was finding professionalism in the school's administrative office. The Principal was not present for Parents Orientation Day. That was not very good on her part. Also, the form room was not properly prepared. My child had a terrible first day. First of all children who are 4yrs old should not be allowed to go to a public bathroom without proper supervision by a responsible adult, they should even have a designated b/room. There was no soap in the bathroom. There is so much that can be done to show that teachers and others incharge really have an interest in our children's success. Parents, please stay totally intuned to your children's day to day school life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2006

Glenmount School was considered an excellent school in 1999 when my daughter attended now my son is there in the 3rd grade and it has become one of the most behavioral problem schools. It is important for parents to show there support, the last PTO meeting 1/18/06 1 parent attend besides the PTO Board and 2 Administrators. Parents where are you? If parenst would surprise there childrfen just 1 day out the week/month and monitor their behavior and be 2 steps ahead of the child school it would be a place to learn not be a social event each day. The next meeting is in May see You there! Parents are the key, the school reinforces. As parents we need to support the school and not fight them. It's second semester make your child accountable and your presence known! Parents have a huge voice in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

52 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

37 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2014.

37 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2014.

37 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
20%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 84% 35%
White 10% 42%
Hispanic 4% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 82%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School counslor
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School counslor
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6211 Walther Ave
Baltimore, MD 21206
Phone: (410) 396-6366

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT