Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Empowerment Academy

Charter | PK-8 | 239 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 7, 2014

I have had two children taught within the middle and elementary school. Unfortunately, it's a product of the urban school system, however it was a good experience for my children. Teachers were receptive and the principal listened. Whenever I had a concern I was welcomed to sit in classes, meet with teachers, I had ALL the teachers personal cell number and they had mine. I experience one new teacher who had very poor classroom management skills, but she was new and did not come from education. Overall the staff was friendly, they communicated and engaged parents who were willing to be engaged. Ultimately, your child's educational experience should not be handed completely over to the school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2014

The elementary school was fine. The middle school is underfunded and lacking quality teachers. Students are not academically supported or encouraged. The administration ignores both teacher and student complaints. There is only one teacher for each core subject for all three years...6th, 7th, 8th grades. If you have a bad teacher, get used to her, 'cause you will have her for all three years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2014

I am very dissappointed with this middle school. It is almost impossible to find out how your child is doing in class because the prinicpal does not allow graded work to be sent home until the end of the year. Teachers are giving grades which they can't explain. They don't have enough supplies or curriculum materials (ex: paper). I would not trust another school in Baltimore city. It appears charter schools do not have the funding that public schools do. If you are moving to Baltimore for employment, commute to the city and live elsewhere !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2013

The Empowerment Academy is an PK-8th grade public charter school located in Baltimore City. They incorporates character education into their curriculum which teaches; trustworthiness, responsibility, caring, citizenship, fairness, and respect. I love that they have Spanish instruction and also the Arts, such as; drama and music. Some of the activities at the school are; Learn It (which is an extended care and educational program that provides homework assistance, science, and much more), 50 hours of committed volunteerism (They truly believe that not just the students and staff, but parents and community as a whole has the responsibility to develop and insure success for our students.), parents seminars and workshops (helps parents to learn and develop skills that are needed to assist our children in becoming great students). All of the staff are wonderful. They are patient and kind, and are well equipped to give our students what they need academically to insure success. The only thing that needs improvement is air conditioning for the building but I believe with a lot of fund raising that will be accomplished. I'm so proud to be a grandparent of an Empowerment Academy student.


Posted October 7, 2013

This is an excellent school. From the Principal to teachers to students. I did all of my research and due diligence to find a great school for my 1st grader and we are blessed that he got into this school. There are several charter schools in Baltimore City but this one is by far the best. Everyone is very kind and respectable and I like that the Prinicipal and Teachers are all very approachable It makes me feel good that I can drop my child off there for school and know that he is in a safe learning environment. They have a really good curriculum and lots of activities to keep the students and parents busy which inturns helps with the family unit. Would highly recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2011

My daughter has attended this school from k-8th grade and it is a great school. One of the things that other schools lack is parent envolvement & this school requires that all parents volunteer a certain amount of hours each year in order for your child to attend. They also offer a literacy for the arts program that is great! And the kids are known for there high test scores. This is a Great school & I recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

I gave this school 5 stars because my daughter has learned a lot more in The Empowerment Academy since being enrolled. Her grades and teachers are exceptional. My daughter stays on task and has been above task a whole lot lately, which makes us very proud of her. Thank you to all the teachers that she has/had; you are phenomenal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2008

The Empowerment Academy is one of the best schools in Baltimore City. I am a very proud parent. My child is always eager to attend school. The staff here is excellent they do their jobs and more. Thw Principals are the best they are funding finders, which means great opportunities for each child that attends the school. I love this school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2008

The Empowerment Academy is the absolute best Charter School in Baltimore City. The staff are all Certified Teachers and Certified Caregivers. They set the standard on how it takes a Whole Village to raise our children. I am grateful that the staff comes prepared to teach and collect results, instead of coming prepared to collect a paycheck. The excellence leads from the top and filters through the entire staff. Education is key in this edifice. I am privileged to have my son take part of something great. I know that he will always take what he learned at TEA and use it throughout the rest of his life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2008

Overall this school does provide a safe environment for students. It doesn't over anything for students that are advanced. Teachers are fair alot are new and would benefit from a teacher mentor program. The do over arts, but it doesn't foster or build on a student natural ability. School parent involvement is weak. They have an excellent parent liason.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2007

This is a great school with wonderful staff, parents and students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 9, 2007

Empowerment Academy is a Godsend. It has given my child the opportunity to achieve. I think the staff treat my child as if he is one of the family unlike public school who treat children as part of the job. The 4th grade teacher is a professional and accessible to the parent and their needs. If you are one of the lucky one who child is enrolled you would not regret this experience
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2006

Academically this school is excellent. He now has an accelerated curriculum. Although there is no physical education, students achieve physical fitness through Dance. Parent involvement is emphasized at this school. This school is the diamond in the rough. After-care gives them several extracurricular activities including karate, computers, sports, sewing and more.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2014.

22 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

22 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2014.

28 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

28 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

23 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2014.

23 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2014.

23 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2014.

26 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2014.

26 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

15 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
100%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2014.

29 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

24 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

24 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2014.

24 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 100% 35%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 12%
Two or more races 0% 4%
White 0% 42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 48%N/A51%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 77%N/A42%
Female 52%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

851 Braddish Ave
Baltimore, MD 21216
Phone: (443) 984-2381

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT