Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lakeland Elementary/Middle School 4

Posted January 31, 2016
- a parent
Most of the teachers that my daughter has had or has are very nice but there's a couple that are not but other then that the school is good and the drama that goes on with a couple of girls is ridiculous and. Childish

Lakeland Elementary/Middle School 5

Posted December 17, 2015
- a community member
My daughter started teaching at this school earlier this year - the spirit in the school, the partnership among the faculty, the leadership from the administration is great. Note that the bad reviews that pull down the average score for this school mostly go back many years - the reviews since 2012 have been excellent. It's great to see such good work occurring in a Baltimore city school.


Lakeland Elementary/Middle School 5

Posted November 23, 2014
- a teacher
Lakeland Elementary Middle School is a wonderfully happy place where all students, staff, community members, families, teachers, administrators and parents treat each other with mutual respect and kindness. Safety, rigor, differentiation and technology integration are some of top priorities of each and every staff member at Lakeland. Teachers, school leaders, and parents collaborate to help scholars in grades pre-k to 8 grow, learn, and be college and career ready. I couldn't be more proud to work at such an outstanding City School.

Lakeland Elementary/Middle School 4

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
Lakeland staff has come a long way in a short time to overcome what was once a less than desirable learning environment and converting it into a place where children can learn, grow and have access to resources that will help build stronger educational opportunities in the future. Collaboration between the teachers, administration and parents is highly encouraged and nurtured and if a parent cares enough about their child's education, and can nurture a love of learning at home and reinforce what is taught at the school, the school has many resources to help parents, teachers ands students guide children towards their academic and social goals.

Lakeland Elementary/Middle School 2

Posted June 26, 2013
- a parent
The school and its staff all work hard and most of the teachers are very committed. But, Lakeland still has a long way to go regarding bullying, student discipline and teaching all students to read and write. My children attend Lakeland and have to deal with bullying on a regular basis. Administration and the teachers can and should do more to help the children feel safe at school.


Lakeland Elementary/Middle School 4

Posted November 02, 2012
- a teacher
I formerly taught at another school in Baltimore City and Lakeland far outshines my previous experience. The staff is welcoming, the students are engaged and the overall environment is positive!

Lakeland Elementary/Middle School 4

Posted November 01, 2012
- a teacher
I am a teacher here at Lakeland and since the new administration has been on board I have seen many changes that have helped raise student achievement, community, and collaboration amongst staff. I feel that students and teachers are being held accountable for the responsibilities and the culture of our school is growing to one of resolved committment to see our students achieve!

Lakeland Elementary/Middle School 5

Posted November 01, 2012
- a teacher
I am a new teacher this year and am so impressed with Lakeland Elementary/Middle! The teachers are creative, motivated and care deeply about their students. I also greatly respect the leadership of my principals and assistant principals and like the friendly, professional tone that they set. I have other friends that are first year teachers in Baltimore City and I seriously feel like I landed the jackpot teaching here! I feel well-supported and continually pushed to be the best I can be for the sake of my students. Lakeland is definitely on the rise and I'm excited to be apart of the upward trend!


Lakeland Elementary/Middle School 5

Posted October 24, 2012
- a teacher
I am a new staff member at Lakeland this year. I have found the administration to be strong, the staff and faculty to be accommodating, and the students to be happy. The administration cares a lot about its students and their families and they spend a lot of time and energy creating a community school. There are lots of great after-school programs, sports teams, clubs, and extra coach class for students to be a part of. It's also a very clean building and a bright environment for students and staff. I have loved working here so far and would recommend this as a great place to work and a great place to send your child to school.

Lakeland Elementary/Middle School 5

Posted June 13, 2012
- a community member
i am cashaey whitener at lakeland i attenade this school because this is a great school. my princeples are the best. i love all the teachers.lakeland is a very clean school.lakeland is a very pespecful school.we are loins a shout out to mr.gordon,mr.e,and mr.jammle they is some very good princeples.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lakeland Elementary/Middle School
2921 Stranden Rd, Baltimore, MD  21230
(410) 396-1406
Last modified Lakeland Elementary/Middle School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lakeland Elementary/Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. Top