Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 6 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Southwest Baltimore Charter School 1

Posted September 17, 2014
- a parent
Horrible principle so you cannot expect the staff to be any better. Not willing to work with parents. Transferred my son

Southwest Baltimore Charter School 5

Posted October 01, 2013
- a parent
Love this school. They have a calm, peaceful, and professional atmosphere. My son a 6th. Grader. And he absolutely loves it. He never really fit in to public school curriculum. Here, he can be and think different and be rewarded for it.


Southwest Baltimore Charter School 4

Posted August 19, 2011
- a parent
All of my children are well taught at SBCS!!! I really love the fact that they are a "hands on" school with lots of educational field trips for all grades. Since they have moved into their own building with the independence to expand to a higher level of classes (middle school), it has been a good transition and convenient for families with children in different grades. The curriculum is awesome, and the activities really attract and keep the children attention. They offer valuable information and resources for families. The school discipline level have decreased since the move, but it takes parent involvement to help get it back.

Southwest Baltimore Charter School 0
no rating

Posted December 09, 2009
- a parent
My son is in Kindergarten at SBCS. It is not only a fantastic City School, it is a fantastic school for any location. The staff they have is outstanding, the leadership is obviously great as turnover is next to nothing. Teachers happily greet all students daily - even ones who are not in their class. There is such a family atmosphere in the school that all the children want to do their best to please not only their actual family, but their school as well. The children are happy, well adjusted, respectful and learning so much! There are many opportunities for working parents to stay involved in their children's lives at SBSC. The communication between teachers and parents is what the parent makes it. If the parent makes the effort to be informed and become involved, they will know what is going on! Keep it up, SBCS!

Southwest Baltimore Charter School 0
no rating

Posted May 05, 2009
- a parent
I love this school I think they should start teaching pre k. I cant wait till they get there own building


Southwest Baltimore Charter School 0
no rating

Posted April 06, 2009
- a parent
My daughter is attending kindergarten this year and she loves it. They have a well balanced curriculm that challenges while making it fun. My daughter is looking forward to first grade

Southwest Baltimore Charter School 4

Posted July 01, 2008
- a parent
My daughter will be going to first grade this August 2008. The teachers and the curriculumn were a good challenge for her. She's done very well. The downside is that the teacher-parent communication could be better.

Southwest Baltimore Charter School 5

Posted June 22, 2008
- a parent
This is a school striving for it all, a great education, excellent school spirit and camaraderie (amongst students as well as teachers), and to lift the neighborhood. Parents must become involved to fully experience the full effect. I would recommend this school to anyone. My son is loving it.


Southwest Baltimore Charter School 5

Posted October 16, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Southwest Baltimore Charter School
1300 Herkimer Street, Baltimore, MD  21223
(443) 984-3385
Last modified Southwest Baltimore Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Southwest Baltimore Charter School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top