Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Southwest Baltimore Charter School 3

Posted July 11, 2016
- a parent
My child has attended SBCS since K-1 and will be going for grade 5 in the fall. She is very advanced and participates actively in her studies. For the first time, this school year, her teacher (Mr. Peace) actually assigned her additional homework and created assignments catered to her academic rigor and skill. I will not be sending her here for middle school, however, because of the poor quality of work from the upper class students, lack of discipline and seemingly effortless course descriptions. They also do not offer foreign language. Excellent school for the younger grades, but as they become older, they become disadvantaged.

Southwest Baltimore Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 11, 2016
- a parent
All of the teachers we've interacted with were helpful and active in my child's studies. Many of them leave, however, for personal reasons but their impact has been lasting.


Southwest Baltimore Charter School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted June 30, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Tia Mr. Tim Ms. Lee Thank you for all you have done. You three should be teachers those kids love yall

Southwest Baltimore Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted June 30, 2016
- a parent
The teacher assistants are way better than the teachers but they aren't always in the classes

Southwest Baltimore Charter School 1

Posted September 17, 2014
- a parent
Horrible principle so you cannot expect the staff to be any better. Not willing to work with parents. Transferred my son


Southwest Baltimore Charter School 5

Posted October 01, 2013
- a parent
Love this school. They have a calm, peaceful, and professional atmosphere. My son a 6th. Grader. And he absolutely loves it. He never really fit in to public school curriculum. Here, he can be and think different and be rewarded for it.

Southwest Baltimore Charter School 4

Posted August 19, 2011
- a parent
All of my children are well taught at SBCS!!! I really love the fact that they are a "hands on" school with lots of educational field trips for all grades. Since they have moved into their own building with the independence to expand to a higher level of classes (middle school), it has been a good transition and convenient for families with children in different grades. The curriculum is awesome, and the activities really attract and keep the children attention. They offer valuable information and resources for families. The school discipline level have decreased since the move, but it takes parent involvement to help get it back.

Southwest Baltimore Charter School
no rating

Posted December 09, 2009
- a parent
My son is in Kindergarten at SBCS. It is not only a fantastic City School, it is a fantastic school for any location. The staff they have is outstanding, the leadership is obviously great as turnover is next to nothing. Teachers happily greet all students daily - even ones who are not in their class. There is such a family atmosphere in the school that all the children want to do their best to please not only their actual family, but their school as well. The children are happy, well adjusted, respectful and learning so much! There are many opportunities for working parents to stay involved in their children's lives at SBSC. The communication between teachers and parents is what the parent makes it. If the parent makes the effort to be informed and become involved, they will know what is going on! Keep it up, SBCS!


Southwest Baltimore Charter School
no rating

Posted May 05, 2009
- a parent
I love this school I think they should start teaching pre k. I cant wait till they get there own building

Southwest Baltimore Charter School
no rating

Posted April 06, 2009
- a parent
My daughter is attending kindergarten this year and she loves it. They have a well balanced curriculm that challenges while making it fun. My daughter is looking forward to first grade

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Southwest Baltimore Charter School
1300 Herkimer Street, Baltimore, MD  21223
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (443) 984-3385
Last modified Southwest Baltimore Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top