Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Thomas Jefferson Elementary School

Public | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 23, 2014

I have 2 sons that attend this school and a few years ago when Mrs. Leisure was the principal the school excelled. Now that Mrs. Henry has taken over the school has declined tremendously. You don't have to take my word for it, look at the test scores from 2010 and back then look at then from 2012 and forward. The proof is in the pudding. The first year she got there SEVERAL teachers left then the next year even more left and they still continue to leave!! My kids come home and tell me some of the things some of the teachers say to them and I am shocked. I have went to the school and sat in the classes and the kid acted as if nor the teacher were even there!! I was so angry I went to speak with the principal about it and right then and there she proved to me that she was all bark and no bite!! The only reason I give this school 2 stars is because of the very few teachers left there that do care.....sad to see what had so much potential go down the drain :(
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

TJ is my grandson's school. This is his first year there, and he tells me he love it there. After attending private school, we thought he would not fit in , because he had never experience public schooling in the city. TJ has changed our feeling about public education,rather they took the fear we had about his safety, and would he stay in the mindset of learning. This is an excellent school full of learning opportunities for each child, with teachers and staff that have their backs at every turn. Thank You TJ for all you do for our boys and girls. A grandmother


Posted April 3, 2014

Thomas Jefferson Elementary/Middle School is an excellent well rounded school, that is accredited with offering each student the International Baccalaureate Program. This program offers each child an excellent learning opportunity and it opens the door for a bright and successful future after having left TJ. My son is currently in the 6th grade at TJ, this is his first year attending TJ, after having been enrolled in private school from Pre-K through 5th grade. i can honestly say that my son had not lost a step in learning! I am amazingly and pleasantly satisfied! In fact, I would go even further to say that via the IB Program, my son is learning more than he would have learned in the private leadership school that he came from - which speaks volumes! The leadership and staff at TJ have all been gracefully welcoming and filled with knowledge, and I especially love how they focus on a paperless sysem, encouraging the students to complete assignmens via technology, i.e., computer, websites, jump drives, etc. Expanding the minds of young people is what TJ is all about! Thank you for the opporunity to express my kudos! Carla Sewell, Parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2013

I do not see updated reviews. August, 2010 is the newest. We have lost a great librarian and art teacher. This is very sad and very bad. What is the status of the Green School? and IB?


Posted August 16, 2010

I am 14 I graduated form TJ in the 5th grade(4 years ago). When I attended Tj it was one of the greatest experiences of my life, I still to this day did not want to leave. The things I learned at TJ have lead me to success.I was the first child to ever win the Ben Carson Scholarship at Tj and i beieve it was because of what i learned while attending. To this day i still talk to my freinds from elementary school and i also still remember every little detail about the school.If you are looking for a good school to enroll your child in, stop looking and register him/her to TJ. I am Now 14 attending the Baltimore Polytechnic Institute, and i thank Thomas Jefferson Elementary for it


Posted January 19, 2010

Thomas Jefferson is an International Baccalaureate School. This kind of school is known all oer the world. I am so glad my child has a chnace to have a global education. The principal and the teachers are hard working and interesting. My kids love to go to school. They love the library and the art room,too. My kids ae learning Spanish,too. Parents are always welcome at the school and feel good being there. Thanks for such a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2009

Thomas Jefferson is a wonderful place to work! It's great to be a part of the TJ family. I have worked in other Baltimore City Schools and have never been treated as wonderfully as I am at TJ. The school is clean and safe and a great place for kids to learn both academic and life skills!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 2, 2009

My 4 year old son loves this school just as much as I do! His teacher in Pre-K has helped him to hold his attention to learning much longer than I did at home when I began him on the 'Hooked-on-Phonics' program. He is so independent and eagerly seeks going back to school on Sunday's. I love the 'No Nonsense' approach the entire staff has at TJ. The enforce respect, responsibility, as well as achievement! This school is run like a Private School, without the tuition!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2009

My son attended Thomas Jefferson for Pre-K and I was not too concerned because he is a very intelligent child and his teachers thought so as well for they had him in kindergarten classes for the first few hours of school to enhance his reading and math skills. I have a older son in 4th grade who I had in private school since pre-k because I was concerned about his academic needs but I took him out of private school this year and so far so good. His teacher is a bit stern which I love because he definitely needs it. He is in a larger class size than his private school but I feel he will get the attention and skills that he needs to excel academically. He loves the school and he seems to be showing a more grown up and responsible attitude since attending this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2009

I am a teacher at Thomas Jefferson and feel lucky to work with such a great staff and wonderful group of children. This school is by far the best I have seen through Baltimore City and many county schools as well. Students are cared for a taught in a manner that is first-class and I enjoy going in to work each day to work with my kids!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 8, 2009

As a community volunteer I continue to see constant love and attention paid to these children. Our principal works hard as does her excellent staff. I urge parents to go to the school and take a tour. The library, computer room, classrooms are fantastic. The halls are covered with the children's work. I talk to the students all the time in and out of the school and find them eager to learn and polite to me as an adult. Cannot wish for more. A tutor


Posted February 7, 2009

Thomas Jefferson is an excellent school. The principal has recruited an inspired and motivated staff.She is accessible at all times. The school is spotless. The students seem hard working and well behaved. I volunteer at the school weekly.I am continuously impressed by the the staff and the children.The librarian is terrific and the the library itself is a wonderful place to be. I volunteer in the library and enjoy the environment. The art teacher is also amazing. Every wall is adorned. The computer lab is well equipped and delightfully decorated.The classrooms are full of wonderful work and engaged teachers. Take time to visit!


Posted December 8, 2008

Looks are definitely deceiving ! I enrolled my children at T.J. elementary and the atmosphere really made me think everything was ok. The students are fine, however, some of the staff could be better trained. The teaching staff is young and either inexperienced or ineffective and in some cases, both. The kids bring home the same Math homework home over and over so you have no idea what they are doing in class. Teachers do not use blackboard, so you have no idea how your child is doing......and graded work is a joke, because you never see any ! I never received notification from teachers saying there is a test.......how am I to help them study ? If you're the type of parent who doesn't care, never visits the school and doesn't want to know what your child is learning, then Thomas Jefferson is the place for you !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

I am a community volunteer that provides resources and volunteer teaching to groups of children in literary studies. This year I have an advanced reading group. The teachers are very motivated and helpful. The children are well behaved and the atmosphere of the school is serious, work centered but also fun. A gret place to be.


Posted October 9, 2008

This is a really good school. I was concerned about sending my grandchild to a Baltimore city public school, but this one is right on. Parents and grandparents are involved. None-the-less, more involvement is needed. I know it's hard now days with so many people having a hectic schedule; just do what you can. Even if it's just one day/month, or even seasonal. This school has PE, arts, and technology for the children. The teachers are high quality, and the principal works very hard at maintaining high standards among students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

This is a great school. The parents really care about the students, and the neighborhood is safe. The teachers care about the students, and try to make learning fun! The Principal and Vice Principal are wonderful and supportive, and there are plenty of specialists on location to help make a bigger impact in the classroom!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 4, 2008

I Love this school!! My daughter is the 3rd generation to attend and we all agree it's one of the best public schools in Baltimore city!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2008

i am a student of this school i am in grade 6th i have been in this school sense i was in pre-k abnd it is the best school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 10, 2008

The teachers at Thomas Jefferson do a wonderful job educating my 2 children. They go above and beyond to ensure that my children reach their maximum potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2006

Thomas Jefferson Elementary School is one the best schools in the Edmondson Village area. As well as Baltimore City. The school environment is very safe. The class sizes are appropriate. The teachers know the students and meet their needs appropriately. My son and niece are doing well and I appreciate the activities, events, resources, and after school activities provided to the chilren.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
16%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
26%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 97% 35%
White 2% 42%
Hispanic 1% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 76%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

605 Dryden Dr
Baltimore, MD 21229
Phone: (410) 396-0534

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. William of York
Baltimore, MD






Green Street Academy
Baltimore, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT