Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Calvin M. Rodwell Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 324 students

We are best known for successful students.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 28, 2013

This school is a amazing it has something no elementary school have calunary arts we have a child first program and a safety program we even have great teachers


Posted May 16, 2013

Both of my children went to Calvin Rodwell years ago. The school is still one of the best in the city. The culinary program and student run garden are just 2 things that make this neighborhood school exceptional. They also "caught" my daughters learning disability, tested her and explained all the results to me. I LOVE this school and support it to this day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2011

I made the right choice.!!!! Both of my grandchildren are enrolled here. The oldest was part of the pre-k/ headstart partnership. The other is a pre-k student. I am impressed with the academic program the school offers. The love, care and concern that the teachers have with my grands and other children in the school. The culinary program also adds to the excellence of the academics teaching the children how to eat healthy at an early age. As well as Spanish. I am so impressed with the way the children are using their spanish in conjunction with English.The school's staff and teachers always have an open door if you need to talk about anything or need help. This school makes you want to come in and participate as a volunteer, and give all you can for their continued success. Again, I feel I made the right decision in helping my children get started in the right direction for school. Children are also learning to plant their own vegetables, work in a garden, as well as creating recipes, preparing food and serving what they prepare. LOVE THE SCHOOL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2011

This school is the BEST. I went to this school when i was child, the teacher's and staff are great... everybody knows the childrens names, grade, teacher's name like they would know their own childs. The curriculum is good and the resource awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2011

this school not only take care of my child but also helped out when I was having a problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2011

Calvin Rodwell is an excellent school. I would highly recommend this scholl if you are looking for a school that will challenge your child academically. The staff and administrator cares about the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2011

I would like to say that Calvin Rodwell is one of the best schools in baltimore city, I have had the best experience with the staff at this school. They keep me inform and up to date with all school information during and after school programes. I would like to thank that staff for everything that they have done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2011

Recently I had the experience of working with the staff and I must say the school staff and educators truly care about the children. The principal knows every childs name and the name of their parents or guardians. The school is now getting tons of coverage for their culinary arts program which is the only one in the country like it at an elementary school. I am very impressed with the staff and the students. I look forward in seeing the many great things that Calvin Rodwell has!


Posted October 17, 2009

My child has struggled at this school. Children without problems thrive but the ones who need a little extra time and help fall between the crack. Any school, organization, ect., is and only as strong as its weakest link. Success should be measured in how the school support the ones who need it the most.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2009

CRE has exceeded my expectations! Teachers are excellent and committed to the kid's academic success. The school is safe and everyone is treated with respect. I must also mention the afterschool program and the great staff that run it. Thank you to the Principal, staff and students that make Calvin Rodwell one of the best schools in Baltimore City! atmosphere is
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2008

My, my,my... Calvin Rodwell as a whole is excellent. Everybody cares for everybody. If you are in need they will find a way to help you out. The kids are kind hearted and really know how to treat each other. The staff make way that no one believe can happen. And last but not least Mrs. Adams, she is going above and beyond to make Calvin Rodwell the best Elementary School in West Baltimore. She use all of her power to make it happen. She will get in early and leave late. There is no problem too big or to small that Mrs. Adams can not solve... Our hats goes off to Mrs. Adams for the EXCELLENT job that she does!!! We Love being a Part of the Mustang Family
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2008

My experience thus far has completely changed my negitive thoughts about Baltimore City Schools. The principals is definatley dedicated, and leads by example to ensuring that her school is the best. The staff, has been exceptional, and my child level of learning and adjusting is impressive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

I have four children attending this school. My husband and I are very proud to say that our children attend Calvin Rodwell Elementary. Each of our children are testing in the advanced level on the MSA. In every grade level the the teachers have always given our kids what they needed to be successful. In addition, the principal is notorious for 'moving mountains' to ensure her students are prepared. I would rate this school an (8).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2008

The best thing about this school is the teachers actually care and put forth a great effort to see your children reach their highest potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 96% 36%
White 2% 43%
Asian 1% 6%
Hispanic 1% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 83%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Only Elementary School in the Country that has a Culinary Arts Program (2010)
  • Governor's Citation (2010)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Music
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Sandra Adams
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Is there an application process?
  • No

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Softball

Arts & music

Music
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Preschool
Elementary school


 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3501 Hillsdale Rd
Baltimore, MD 21207
Website: Click here
Phone: (410) 396-1452

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT