Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Baltimore Highlands Elementary School 5

Posted August 07, 2015
- a parent
I love this school and always feel welcome. I attend every evening activity that they have and they are always well-planned and fun. The teachers remember my older kids when they come back to visit at school events and talk to them and make them feel special. I get the vibe from most kids that they adore their teachers and the teachers seem very committed to the students and their classrooms. I love Mr Williams and all the staff, I can't say enough positive things about BHES!!

Baltimore Highlands Elementary School 5

Posted June 13, 2014
- a parent
This school is AWESOME!!! Mr. Williams and Mrs. Johnson make this school so enjoyable and super friendly. I would give this school 10 stars if I could I've seen this school make a huge turn around its a wonderful school my kids enjoy their teachers very much and me mom is always happy to know my kids have wonderful teachers who go beyond with loving to teach looking forward to the next school year! Btw We love Baxter he is one super awesome dog!


Baltimore Highlands Elementary School 5

Posted January 08, 2014
- a parent
I also was worried about sending my child to this school. I was wrong and I am very impressed with the school and the way that Mr. Williams conducts it. The children and staff are wonderful. The school is clean and very nice inside.

Baltimore Highlands Elementary School 5

Posted March 19, 2013
- a parent
When we first moved to this area I was a little worried about sending my son to this school. I saw the 3/10 rating and negative reviews and was worried. Reality is that the school is wonderful. The teachers and other staff are wonderful, always friendly, welcoming and caring about the children's education. The principal, Mr Williams, is a wonderful principal and enjoys bantering with the parents and children alike and this makes for a really relaxed setting. He also deals with any issues right away. My sons teachers all care a lot about him and work hard to make him the best he can be. Parent involvement is lacking however. It always seems to be the same parents showing up for everything. I only have one complaint about the school, but that's about the building, not the staff. The school desperately needs air conditioning, Congratulations to all the teachers and staff in making this a wonderful school!!!!!

Baltimore Highlands Elementary School 5

Posted August 14, 2011
- a community member
I Went To BHES For 7 Years ( Pre-K Through 5th ) And I loved that school ! The teachers were amazing (alot of them , except now all of my favorite teachers (Mrs.Aus/Roman , Ms Howell ) are now gone, they must have loved our class so much they left our year :) and I was in the GT programs they had at the school since they started GT. The teachers always were helpful and nice :D, Going to 8th Grade this year at Lansdowne Middle School and hopefully going to try and go to the BSA for visual arts next year, I would recommend BHES to anyone !


Baltimore Highlands Elementary School 4

Posted August 04, 2011
- a parent
My son has been going to this school since pre-k and after reading the two parents post below I am very upset! Every teacher in this school that I have met with or know that have had friends kids have always went above and beyond with their students. It seems to me that a lot of parents want everything done for them and that is just not how life is. You have to be parent of your child's education. I also like how they want to help meet state standards and while I cannot be one of the 3 parents who are being spoke of in the post by the teachers because I am working and my husband work all the time. I try to do anything i can to help when i have the time. That is what this school needs more parents to help support them.

Baltimore Highlands Elementary School 4

Posted July 06, 2011
- a teacher
I am a past teacher of Baltimore Highlands ES and while I was there I felt that the teachers went above and beyond to support each student in the school. Activities and after school programs are available to help students, at all levels, succeed. This school has great support from about 3 parents, but the rest expect everything from everyone else, without pitching in to help. If this school could gain a stronger parents support group, it would be phenominal! The administration has recently changed. With that, I think comes great opportunity.

Baltimore Highlands Elementary School 5

Posted February 07, 2010
- a teacher
As a teacher at Baltimore Highlands I am appalled at the two previous reviews of the school that I love to teach at. Personally, I am proud to teach at Baltimore Highlands and any parent who says that the children run the school obviously have not spent any time there. The teachers genuinely care about their students and it shows. Children are motivated to learn through fun activities such as Baxter's Math Fact Challenge and special nights such as Reading and Math Night. Our PTA is a fantastic support to both teachers and students but the only parents who show up are the 3 board members. I agree that passing MSA is important as consequences for not passing are harsh. Teachers want to prepare children for the test, but more importantly, for future education and adult life itself. Caring about meeting state standards is a GOOD thing!


Baltimore Highlands Elementary School 1

Posted January 22, 2010
- a parent
It appears that kids actually run this school. No wonder results are so meager.

Baltimore Highlands Elementary School 2

Posted January 04, 2010
- a parent
This school does not have activities which educate or excite my child to learn. The main goal of this school is their MSA scores not the students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Baltimore Highlands Elementary School
4200 Annapolis Rd, Baltimore, MD  21227
(410) 887-0919
Last modified Baltimore Highlands Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Baltimore Highlands Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top