Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fort Garrison Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 462 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 14, 2013

My daughter is currently in 4th grade and has attended the school since Kindergarten. She is in the G&T program, and definitely finds the school work challenging. I have found the principal to be very helpful in conflict resolution (bullying). Some of my parent-to-parent interactions have been suboptimal because I don't believe that everyone feels that collaboration is important, but that is not a reflection of the school. The school is a bit weak in the diversity of students, but, again, not the fault of the school. We had just one poor teacher and the school worked with the whole grade to compensate for her lack of teaching ability and moved quickly to pass on this weak tenured teacher elsewhere. I am glad my daughter goes here and she really likes it and did not want to move to a private school sooner, which was an option. We will stay here through 5th grade and likely switch to a private school at that time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2011

Update to the post below...I meant to post 4 stars. The rating said "above average" but only showed 2 stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2007

I had nothing but problems from this school. I think this school only cares about test scores and really doesn't want to help the kids who need extra help. The best thing I did was to take my daughter out of that school! She went from failing the fifth grade to being an A student in a short time. If she had so many problems how could that have happened? Be very careful with Fort Garrison and don't think for a minute that the staff will help you. They really seem to ignore any problems with there teachers they would rather place the blame on the students even when it is clearly not their fault
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2006

Our older son just graduated this year from FGE School this year, and I am really happy that he received a great education and became a GT student. Everything is great about FGE school: principal, teachers, support staff, education, care, etc. I am looking farward for my younger kids to go to FGE school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2004

Fort Garrison is a top notch elementary school I am a parent and an educator, and I have been thoroughly impressed with the quality of teachers, the impressive involvement of the administration, and the amazing PTA. Public schools don't get better than this!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2004

LAST COMMENT This happened to several frustrated families that I spoke to...at the end they were left feeling helpless because none of the issues ever gets resolved! The teachers always get the final word and full backing. As for the parents that these comments will probably anger, please don t judge others so quickly until you have been in their place. To make this school a better place they need to take the time to listen & investigate concerns & better understand parents. They ask the parents to be understanding & cooperative & donate their time, effort, money as well as donations during the year. We are happy to help and volunteer & do everything to make our school a great place for our kids. As a parent all I m asking for is a little more respect & to be taken seriously when I ask for your help in dealing with difficult teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2003

Fort Garrison is an awesome school! I love it! I attend Fort Garrison and the teachers are so kind and helpful! I will never forget Fort Garrison when I leave to go to Middle School!


Posted September 4, 2003

We are so happy with the school, our daughter is in the fourth grade and loves it! Everyone who works at the school is totally committed! Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 42%
Black 10% 35%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 6%
Hispanic 2% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 7%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School counslor
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Arts & music

Music
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School counslor
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3310 Woodvalley Dr
Baltimore, MD 21208
Phone: (410) 887-1203

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT