Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Victory Villa Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 6, 2013

My son will enter Middle School this September but I have to say that we have had the greatest experience for the past 6 years at Victory Villa Elementary School. The teachers are amazing, the staff is so kind and supportive, and the Principal and AP are the BEST!!! We couldn't have asked for a better group of people to help encourage and teach our son to be the best he can be! Advice: Join the PTA. Stay involved. Not only have we created awesome friendships that will last a lifetime, but we consider the folks at VVES, our family!! Thank you to everyone who helped shape our son into the amazing young man he is today!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2011

I attend this school and so did my children. I love going back and recalling my memories of this school. Very Clean and very friendly Staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2008

Victory Villa is a fantastic school! The best interests of their students are paramount in everything they do. I have watched many children grow and mature under the watchful and dedicated eyes of the fabulous staff at the Villa. They have an active and enthusiastic PTA who is always providing fun opportunities for the children. I have had two children at Victory Villa from PreK (where the BEST teacher in Baltimore County is!) through their fifth grade and I can honestly say that Victory Villa Elementary School is by far the BEST school around!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2007

This is an excellent elementary school & Mrs. East is a wonderful Principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

My daughter just left Victory Villa this past year. I hated to see her leave. The quality of education and the dedication of the staff was great. I truly believe that it is the leadership that is making this school great. The teachers and staff love the kids and it shows. I can't say enough about this school. And the academics meet each child at their particular need. It is refreshing. Kudos Victory Villa you'll always have a special place in my heart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2005

I have had the pleasure of having two girls attend VV elem. They have been well prepared for the future. One has already graduated and was afforded so many programs outside of the system... it has been amazing she's now a senior in high school and excelling. The other is getting the education of a lifetime and surprisingly is doing better than children in private schools. This is the place to send your child if you want a bright furture for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2005

I have a son who attends V.V. I love the teachers and staff. They go out of their way to make my son feel welcome and excited about school. They have the best first grade teacher ever! She helps the students understand the students Liberty in first grade. I have noticed that the PTA members do not look outside the box for ideas and or fundraisers and shy away from other ideas of parents. But over all this is an excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2005

I have 2 children that attend V.V. and am very pleased with them attending their. They have been part of the school since they were in pre-k and I still am over all satisfied.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I currently have a child in the second grade, who is doing very well, and one that graduated from this school with the presidents award and attended every principals breakfast. He is now a senior in high school, graduating with a 3.8 GPA. I would like to thank the school and faculty for there continued success. They have always been supportive and understanding to my sons needs. Thanks Again!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

My daughter has been a student at VV since Pre K and has just enter[ed] the 5th grade. Last year she didn t have a teacher. It was subbed all year and the class fell behind a great deal. It was a great concern of theirs now as parents we are concerned at how our children will do this year as 5th graders.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 44% 42%
Black 29% 35%
Hispanic 13% 12%
Two or more races 10% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

500 Compass Rd
Baltimore, MD 21220
Phone: (410) 887-0184

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT