Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Port Towns Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 840 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

5 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 23, 2010

I've always had a great experience with Port Towns. My son loves his teachers and I would not trade that for the world. He is always at the top of his class and loves reading, math and science class! He is starting 2nd grade this year and I can't wait until my 3 yr. old starts Pre-K next year. As for admin and staff, I can say they are always willing to help and they are very supportive. They even had a training workshop for their new schoolmax portal website. It shows the child's schedule, grades and any information for upcoming projects.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2009

Every time I visit PTES, I have a good experience. Everyone is always friendly and helpful. My kids enjoy their classes;that means a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2009

I think Port Towns Elementary is wonderful school! The staff are concerned about the childrens well being and they do their best to make sure that children are safe and are learning.


Posted March 13, 2008

The school administration really needs to improve in the comunication that has with the parents, Port Towns has Parent Liaison, who is always helping the non-english speaker parents and she tries to help as much as she can, but the administration is really poor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2007

I have to admit, I was really excited 3 years ago when Port towns opened its doors. My daughter who was new to PG county schools was going into the 3rd grade when the state of the art school opened it doors. Now my daughter is going into the 6th grade and I'm truly in search of a new school. The administrative staff is terrible. You don't receive notice of important info until the last minute. A school is only as good as its leaders and Port Towns clearly doesn't have any. I pray that the school board will take a stand and demand more from the administrators and teachers for the sake of the children; or Port Towns & all of PG Co. schools will continue to decline.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 48% 12%
Black 41% 36%
White 4% 43%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 0%
Asian 1% 6%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 87%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4351 58th Ave
Bladensburg, MD 20710
Phone: (301) 985-1480

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




New Hope Academy
Landover Hills, MD




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT