Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Rockledge Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 21, 2015
- a parent
Thanks to the great Teachers who gave us great experiences but have now left the school.

Rockledge Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted September 21, 2015
- a parent
The homework is of no value. It doesn't excite children - it's the same old boring, unchallenging work that does not push for any creativity or thought.


Rockledge Elementary School 1

Posted September 21, 2015
- a parent
Sadly, this school is an embarassment to the Bowie community. It starts with the incredibly poor leadership! The principal has no respect for her teachers or parents and does not even appear to like children. So many good teachers have left over the years and the school ratings continue to decline. It's run like a prison and the fights on the playground are a regular thing. Teachers yell because they are so frustrated, children are mean because they are in a bad environment - it's a vicious cycle. Stay away from this school.

Rockledge Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
The principal has no respect for parents or students so how can they respect others

Rockledge Elementary School 1

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
Teachers fine. Principal and assistant, terrible. Ive had numerous problems. Other moms too. I hope there is a change!


Rockledge Elementary School 5

Posted August 29, 2014
- a parent
This school is great! My little one loves his teacher. The school administration and the teachers provide a warming and welcoming environment to teach the children. The facilities are always clean and the overall school facilities are in great shape. The PTA is very organized and the community participates activelly!! We plan to spend the next four years in the school.

Rockledge Elementary School 3

Posted August 07, 2014
- a parent
Ms. Seidel who is the principal does not work with parents. I have had an issue for the last couple of years and I did not get a resolution. I had to get the school board involved to get action taken. When you talk to her she seems like she cares, but when you try to follow up she puts up a bunch of barriers that don't make things happen. Also combing grade levels isn't working at the school.

Rockledge Elementary School 1

Posted February 19, 2014
- a parent
Rockledge used to be a good school. A couple of years ago I could have given it a 4. There were some changes that were made without putting kids first. The principal comes off as really nice but doesn't address parents concerns. I'm really disappointed in the direction this school is going.


Rockledge Elementary School 1

Posted December 08, 2013
- a parent
The 2013-2014 has been rough on my child. The principle is horrible, there are no other words to describe her. She comes off as very nice and caring but when an issue needs to be addressed she completely changes her tone. She talks down to parents and is not receptive at all. I am not the only parent that has had the same issue with her. Some of the teachers are ok but others not so much, My child's 3rd teacher leaves a lot to be desired. My child is extremely bright but the way they have set up his classroom with both 3rd and 2nd graders is not working. A lot of children are struggling, not just mine! I have so many complaints about this school. I would not recommend it to any parent at all. IF you are considering enrolling your child into this school, I would suggest to explore other options. My child will NOT attend this school after this year, even if I have to homeschool.

Rockledge Elementary School 1

Posted July 19, 2012
- a parent
The 2011-2012 school year at Rockledge Elementary was challenging. The new Principal is a better fit for High School. The new Principal does not have a great connections with parents and make decisions without considering the impact on the school community. The tone "loud" of the Principal is also not conducive to an elementary school environment. The multiple changes in staff over the last year has been terrible. Rockledge was previously a great school with a warm environment and deserving of 4 stars despite being overly crowded. I am not sure the school can get back to the strong sense of children first, team and strong community with the new Principal.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rockledge Elementary School
7701 Laurel Bowie Rd, Bowie, MD  20715
(301) 805-2720
Last modified Rockledge Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Rockledge Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top