Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Buckeystown, MD
Students enrolled: 104
Before care: No
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Thomas More Academy 5

Posted April 12, 2014
- a parent
St. Thomas More Academy has been a blessing to our family. We knew the public school in our neighborhood was not an option due to it's poor ratings. After touring several Catholic schools in the area, STMA stood out like a shining star. It's small class sizes, nurturing environment, and Classical Curriculum, are things we valued most as a family. Like any small school, it faces challenges, however the families, teachers, and staff always come together in a way that best suits the students. This sense of community and pride in the school reiterates that we made the right choice when we selected STMA. Our daughter loves her school, friends, and teachers. As parents, we love seeing how much she learns every day. It's also a comfort knowing she is in the care of such wonderful teachers and staff.

St. Thomas More Academy 5

Posted April 08, 2014
- a parent
After 3 children successfully completed an education in public school, it never crossed my mind that I would be sending my youngest daughter to private school. The public school system in our community has an excellent reputation and many people move here for that reason. My daughter did well in the Primary school but had a very tough year in the Elementary school. It just wasn t a fit for her. The class sizes were large, the open space classroom environment was loud and chaotic and the curriculum was providing her with some of the foundational skills needed to excel academically. We tried working with the school, administration and teachers but realized through the year that she was getting lost in the public school system. We either made the choice that she would be an okay student in public school or we could send her to a private school and set her up for excellence. Our daughter has transformed into a confident and engaged student. Family and friends have commented on this change. She is able to be the kind caring little girl that is her nature and flourish in this environment. We are so thankful that we made this decision and feel blessed to be a part of STMA.


St. Thomas More Academy 5

Posted October 29, 2013
- a parent
St. Thomas More Academy in Middletown gives my child the individualized education that can only be found in a small classroom. With teachers committed to knowing and encouraging my child intellectually, spiritually, and emotionally, our daughter loves going to school each day. Every afternoon she comes home with new knowledge, but more than that - the assurance that she is a beloved child of God. Saint Thomas More is certainly educating Saints and Scholars!

St. Thomas More Academy 5

Posted September 09, 2013
- a parent
St. Thomas More Academy is wonderful. The small class sizes and classical curriculum cannot be found at any other school in the area. My children are thriving in the environment provided at STMA. I highly encourage other parents to consider St. Thomas More if looking for a solid, faith based and academically challenging school.

St. Thomas More Academy 5

Posted April 15, 2012
- a parent
We are second year parents at STMA. We have been just amazed at the warm and caring community this school has to offer. We toured the other Upper Moco and Frederick offerings but decided STMA was the right choice. Parents are always welcomed. Not so much at the other schools. My kids are doing very well there and just LOVE the school. We have been so happy here. STMA is a get fit for us.


St. Thomas More Academy 5

Posted March 25, 2010
- a community member
STMA is a great school, full of good people and nice teachers. It offers great classes, nice class sizes, and a great education system. If you want a school that has great educational programs, good people, and a safe learning enviornment with no worry of bullying, this school is for you.

St. Thomas More Academy 5

Posted March 25, 2010
- a community member
STMA is an amazing school. Most of the teachers are loving and caring, and know what they are doing. The principal is an excellent tutor for these aspiring students. The Seventh Grade are the most well behaved, golden-children I know. I love this school

St. Thomas More Academy 0
no rating

Posted March 05, 2010
- a parent
This school is very weak in all areas. My children have learned more in public school. Teachers and administration have left and the founder will not let parents know the reasons behind it. Thumbs down!


St. Thomas More Academy 4

Posted September 12, 2009
- a parent
STMA is a warm and welcoming school that provides low student to teacher ratios and solid education in the primary grades. There is a strong sense of Christian faith in the leadership and the children who attend the school. No question this young school is going through growing pains both organizationally and financially, but that has not diluted the positive learning environment in the lower grades.

St. Thomas More Academy 1

Posted July 07, 2009
- a parent
STMA is a very small school for those who like to know their children are not lost in the crowd. However, the academics are very weak and leadership is lacking. PreK is the best program in the school. Middle school is terribly weak. If you are seeking a private or catholic school, there are better options in Frederick County and beyond.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Thomas More Academy
Po Box 879, Buckeystown, MD  21717
(301) 874-9014
Last modified St. Thomas More Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St. Thomas More Academy Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top