Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sandy Hill Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 499 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 5, 2011

Great teachers but community involvement is lacking. Space seems adequate yet dated--not a very "cheery" and exciting learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2010

My daughter is in her 3rd day at Sandy Hill and everyday she comes home and tells me that somebody called her a name or some child beat up this child, I am not surprised with this , this is the kind of people who live around here, I can tell you I already miss catholic schools, my daughter had nothing but upmost respect from everyone in catholic and christian schools
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

I have a 2nd grader at Sandy Hill Elementary. It is a great school. My child has attended there since pre-k. She has learn so much and has had excellent teachers. All her teachers had her best interest in mind. The principal is all always concerned about the staff and children. I'm glad she is attending this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2005

My child is a first grade student at Sandy Hill Elementary. She is doing very well so far this year. I am pleased with this school and the first grade staff. My daughter has an increased desire to learn because of this new faculty's ideas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2005

The State of Maryland 'dumbing down' curriculum combined with the socioeconomic challenges in Dorchester County are prominently displayed in the school system - a recipe for disaster. 'Character Counts' - where? While issues may have been corrected, they are temporary. Children who are doing well are bored, the curriculum is not altered for the best interest of the student. Our children and our society deserve better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2004

My son is finally out of Sandy Hill, and I feel much better about his education now. Last year, the children weren't permitted to go out to play at all because there were too many fights! During his years at Sandy Hill, he had one honestly caring, excellent teacher. That's not enough. I am so glad Sandy Hill is part of our past.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2004

I have a 2nd grader and a 4th grader who have both been at Sandy Hill since Pre-K. It is a wonderful school, with supportive caring staff members who have helped my children excel and maintain their love of learning. Each morning as my youngest walks through the halls, she is greeted by name by teachers and administrators; because of these people she loves school! As a college level educator, I have high expectations when it comes to the education of my own children, and the staff at Sandy Hill has NOT disappointed me. I am equally impressed with the amount of parent involvement, the PTO planned activities, and the overall community feeling at Sandy Hill. As parents, we must lay the foundations for learning and excellence; no school can do a parent's job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2004

We have been very pleased with the teachers and opportunities provided at SHES. Our son began his education in private schools and did well. We thought transitioning to public would be difficult but have found staff to be supportive and well skilled. Our son is bright but challenged by a learning disability. Never has he been made to feel inadequate or different from his peers. The teachers and principal have teamed with us to implement diagnostic tests and have stayed on top of his individual learning plan. The school is well maintained and provides a safe environment for its students. I would recommend this school without reservation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2004

Not a good school. I feel my children are unsafe. There are a few excellent teachers, but mostly they are unsupportive, uncaring, and seemingly uneducated. Many of the teachers' grammar is atrocious. Children cannot learn how to speak correctly when their mentors cannot speak correctly. Strangely, achieving good grades seems to be discouraged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2004

There is a saying among some teachers, 'If a child is not learning the way I teach, I will teach in a way that the child will learn.' This is not the case with this school. The teachers here teach a curriculum, not students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 45% 36%
White 43% 43%
Hispanic 6% 12%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 67%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1503 Glasgow Rd
Cambridge, MD 21613
Phone: (410) 228-7978

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Open Bible Academy
Cambridge, MD





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT