Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
234 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Philip the Apostle Catholic School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted December 05, 2015
- a community member
The Board appears to be attempting to move the school into the 21st century and they have worked with the principle to introduce STEM.

St Philip the Apostle Catholic School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted December 05, 2015
- a community member
The STEM program is weak. There appears to be a need for more up to date methods of instruction. The Washington Archdiocese Curriculum is very outdated.


St Philip the Apostle Catholic School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted December 05, 2015
- a community member
The amount of homework tends to have you question what is being taught in the class. Additionally, each teacher has a different methodology of providing an electronic version that you can follow. To make matters even worst, they do not use eBooks.

St Philip the Apostle Catholic School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted December 05, 2015
- a community member
This is a challenge to answer as the instructional methodology is rigid. If the child is not a conformist, the spirit of the child may be broken if the parents cannot acknowledge the fact of such a rigid protocol in instructional methodology.

St Philip the Apostle Catholic School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted December 05, 2015
- a community member
The school follows the Washington Archdiocese Catholic program and has a strong focus on honesty, integrity and fairness.


St Philip the Apostle Catholic School 3

Posted December 05, 2015
- a community member
St Philip the Apostle is an average school that offers a warm, inviting and safe atmosphere. The Principle is in her second year and is attempting to build a STEM program. The instructional methodology is highly homework focused which leads parents to wonder what is being taught in the classroom. Additionally, the classroom sizes are quite large which doesn't support educating students that are average or below average. These children will be left behind as a result. Their formal STEM program was introduced this year and hopefully will build momentum. The instructional program is being built and will take time and dedication on the part of the community of teachers and parents.

St Philip the Apostle Catholic School 4

Posted September 25, 2014
- a parent
St. Philip the Apostle is a very good school. It is academically challenging, the leadership is competent, and the teachers are well qualified. My two children have been there for 4 years and we are satisfied.

St Philip the Apostle Catholic School 4

Posted February 06, 2014
- a parent
I am very pleased with St. Philips. The principle and entire staff is very involved and vested in the success of the students. Because this is a Catholic school, religion and moral character is a big part of their curriculum, and i am pleased with my child's progress. My child is currently enrolled in PK3 and is registered for PK4 for next year. Her class currently is staffed by a teacher and a paraprofessional. Her current teacher is in her fist year in the Archdiocese and the paraprofessional has been there for a number of years. Taking that into account, I think this year for the teacher was a learning experience as much as it has been for our children. Initially, it was a bit bumpy, but a conversation with the principle and a successful parent teacher conference, has shown much improvement. MY child is meeting the benchmarks for her learning and as a result I am pleased with the school as a whole.


St Philip the Apostle Catholic School 5

Posted February 06, 2014
- a parent
My son has attended St. Philip since PK4 and is now in the 1st grade. The day I went to deliver my check, I questioned whether we were putting him in the right school. I wanted to be certain the school would meet our needs from an education perspective and ensure the right balance of nurturing and discipline. I started asking questions and the principal came right over, sat down with me and patiently listened then answered everything despite the fact that I didn't have an appt. I knew right then this was the best place for him and still feel that way. The staff members are all professional and kind, the students are well mannered and respectful and the parent community is very tight. We have a great sports program where kids not only learn to win, they have fun.

St Philip the Apostle Catholic School 5

Posted January 19, 2014
- a parent
This school is a very peaceful structured environment for children. The principal is a great advocate for her students, parents, and the school. My children are in PreK3 and PreK4 and I have a wonderful relationship with their teachers. This school is very family oriented. My children will be at this school for a while because it is very hard to find a great school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Philip the Apostle Catholic School
5414 Henderson Way, Camp Springs, MD  20746
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. (301) 423-4740
Last modified St Philip the Apostle Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top