Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Capitol Heights, MD
Students enrolled: 752
 

3 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

15 reviews of this school


Fairmont Heights High School 5

Posted February 26, 2014
- a parent
This school is one of the best if not the best in the county the test scores are high and the the teachers are there to help your kids and not just get a paycheck plus it has a outstanding technology program and lots of different clubs I highly recommend this school for any parent who cares about their child's education

Fairmont Heights High School
no rating

Posted November 30, 2009
- a parent
My child attends Fairmont, I think they do what they are able to at the school. I would like to see more information coming home on my child besides the report card let me know when she is not being up to her potential I want my child to be challenged so that she will be ready for school. I want her to feel that her High school was the best choice. Please try to keep the parents updated.


Fairmont Heights High School
no rating

Posted November 19, 2009
- a parent
I very disappointed in this school. My child has not been turning in homework and class work and I don't receive a letter or a phone call.. How is this possible?? I had to track down the 'VP' to get the teachers to respond to my emails. This is unbelievable!!

Fairmont Heights High School 4

Posted September 21, 2009
- a student
Okay. So there's a new principal at Fairmont. I don't know what her deal is, but I really hope things change for the better at the school. At the look of things, it's going to take a while before everyone finds there place at the school (even the new administration). Stay in your place and don't do stuff that's unnecessary, is all I'm saying.

Fairmont Heights High School
no rating

Posted December 04, 2008
- a student
I'm am a current sophomore at Fairmont Heights (the year 2008-2009). I can tell you without a doubt that Fairmont Heights has toughened since my freshman year. They are doing a pretty substantial job. Although we have way too many freshmen and less teachers. Fairmont is raising its standards quite a bit. We also have overcrowded class. When the new school building is built in 2010 I think things will pretty much change. I am not completely satisfied with the school, but I believe their are many oppurtunities in stall for me if I attend here. Two more years to go I think i can make it....


Fairmont Heights High School 3

Posted October 10, 2008
- a student
I am a student attending and in the 2008-2009 school year we have less teachers and more overcrowded classes

Fairmont Heights High School 4

Posted July 23, 2008
- a parent
I am a parent and the school is changing for the better. the principal has made safety a top priority, has implemented AP classes and works with her faculty to deliver the best education for the students. Poor behavior is not tolerated. The mock trial team was invited and attended Harvard University for seminar.

Fairmont Heights High School
no rating

Posted July 15, 2008
- a community member
As a former student I can tell you that this school is ghetto. It does not prepare you for college at all. Ifat all possible don't go to fairmont heights give your self a chance.


Fairmont Heights High School 5

Posted May 06, 2008
- a student
I am a current student at Fairmont Heights, and it is a wonderful place to learn and grow as an individual. The administration is strong, AND fair. Despite the stereotypical classification of Fairmont as a 'bad schoo,l' it is, in fact, quite the opposite. All a student needs is ambition and and the will to work hard. The teachers are more than willing to help that that student to succeed and will go out of their way to do so. I love Fairmont Heights and i am very excited for the new facility the future pupils will attend.

Fairmont Heights High School 5

Posted April 24, 2008
- a parent
I am a parent of two former Fairmont Heights students. Both my daughters where involved with the band, choir, PTSA, Umoja, golf and various other organizations. When there was a problem the Administrators and Teachers where right there beside the parents addressing whatever. Now of course there where a few teachers that needed to be reported. It was done, they where dealt with. There where also loads of parents that would not get involved with anything, but would be the first to complain. I am proud to say both my daughters have attended and graduated from HBCU's and are doing wonderful. I will always be a proud Fairmont Heights Parent. If I am ever in the area and they need assistance, even though my children are adults. I will be right there. Loads of graduates go straight to major Colleges and Universities.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fairmont Heights High School
1401 Nye St, Capitol Heights, MD  20743
(301) 925-1360
Last modified Fairmont Heights High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Fairmont Heights High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top