Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Ambrose Elementary School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Cheverly

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $120,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,270.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 21, 2013

St. Ambrose is absolutely wonderful. Excellent principal, teachers and academics. They operate on a higher grading scale which gives the children a better challenge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2011

I graduated from this school in 1982. I went on to attend DeMatha HS until our family relocated to Virginia. It was a great school then and is a great school now. Given the current environment of PG County Schools a parent would have be completely irresponsible or poor to send their children to PG County Public Schools. The schools are unsafe and the teachers, administrators, parents and students are mostly apathetic. They are also openly or covertly hostile to people of other races and backgrounds. PG County may not only have the worst school system in MD, but possibly the US. The only quality school in Cheverly was Cheverly Tuxedo Elementary which the school system closed about a dozen years ago and turned into some kind of weird experimental learning center. If choose to live in PG County, MD do not send your kids to public school; you will regret it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2011

Excellent School. The Principal is awesome - she really takes an interest in every child. Discipline is doled out when needed and fair. Teachers are also very engaged in the school and provide a very good education. Art, Music, Library, Spanish, and PE are offered every week. There are also extra curricula activities that further round out the students education, including, band, choir, karate, cheerleading, basketball.. not to mention that St. Ambrose was the CYO Track and Field champions last year. Parent involvement is great - yes their is a mandatory number of hours - but parents step up with pride and pitch in when needed! If you are looking for a new school, take a look.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2010

St. Ambrose School is a great place for young students to build self esteem and get prepared for and accepted into the competitive high schools in the Washington, DC metropolitan area. Pre-K through 8th grade. The rich curricula of music, art, competitive athletics, and physical education provide a well rounded education for these young students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2010

My basis on whether an elementary school is great or not is their graduation rate. I visited St. Ambrose on March 8, 2010, and heard the Principal announcing a myriad of scholarships that were awarded to the 8th grade students and the high schools they would be attending. Well, St. Ambrose has a 100% graduation rate, with 8th grade students receiving scholarships to attend well-known high schools, Georgetown Visitation, Gonzago, St. John's, etc. Principal leadership, teacher quality, extracurricular activities, parent involvement, and safety and discipline has to be more than above average when an elementary school's graduation rate is 100%. This is my bottom line; and I am happy that my boys attend St. Ambrose Elementary School. Facilities are nice; and I rate St. Ambrose 4 stars.


Posted February 7, 2010

Excellent adminstration, strong family environment, high academic excellence
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2009

My sons are thriving at St. Ambrose. The curriculum is on point with the appropriate grade level. My oldest is excelling in his classes and consistently proves to me that he is learning great information. My youngest has transitioned well into their Pre-K program and has excelled as a class leader. The staff and administration focuses daily on providing a quality education to the student population.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

This school has educated caring teachers and a awesome principal who has a vision of success for every grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2008

I would rate it 4 stars, although it does depend on which teachers you get. My daughter has been fortunate. She has had very excellent teachers for the most part. The curriculum is above average. The school can benefit from a more selective admission standard, attracting and retaining higher-caliber students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2008

I am disappointed with this School. At the open house last year I was given the impression that it was a loving and nurturing environment with small class sizes. When school started I was very disapointed with the large class size and temperament of the teacher (which I think relates to the classroom being over crowded). Now I just learned that next years Kindergarden class will have 30 students! Additionally, the school facilities need to be upgraded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2007

Excellent kindergarten program; class sizes are small and teachers and their assistants are very competent and professional; school emphasizes teaching students to care for each other, and this engenders a nice spirit of cooperation and community; all students have music, art, phys. ed and Spanish classes weekly; families are required to contribute 30 hours of volunteer work annually per family, so parent involvement is quite high.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2006

Teacher quality in some instances is poor in others excellent. Music, art and sports programs available. Parent involvement is uneven.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 83% 35%
White 14% 42%
Hispanic 3% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Washington
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6310 Jason Street
Cheverly, MD 20785
Phone: (301) 773-0223

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






New Hope Academy
Landover Hills, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT