Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Columbia, MD
Students enrolled: 382
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Thunder Hill Elementary School 2

Posted April 08, 2014
- a community member
the staff do not treat you well especially when you are outgoing and always "out there". Also if your parents are not American citizens. Most of the time the teachers will teach well but they think students should keep quiet and be respectful all the time. I think students should be allowed to express their feelings.

Thunder Hill Elementary School 5

Posted November 06, 2013
- a parent
This school is a hidden gem. The teachers are very caring & want your children to succeed. I had two children attend from K-5, one had an IEP and the other was in GT classes. They both were successful. It shows that this school can meet whatever needs you place before them. I'm great flu to the entire staff. The parents are very active in the school & there are always opportunities to volunteer.


Thunder Hill Elementary School 5

Posted June 12, 2013
- a parent
Excellent school with great administration and staff. The after school program is an excellent addition to the already stellar environment.

Thunder Hill Elementary School 5

Posted September 09, 2012
- a parent
One of the best! Tied for #7 in the entire state of MD!!! We love the teachers, staff and principal at THES! To the previous reviewer... No, they are NOT nixing the G/T program! It's wonderful! My kids have had the bet experiences here! We love it!

Thunder Hill Elementary School 1

Posted May 18, 2012
- a parent
I wouldn't wish this terrible school on anyone. There is horrible leadership and poor academic programs. I've even hear they are nixing the GT programs next year.


Thunder Hill Elementary School 5

Posted September 23, 2011
- a parent
Thunder Hill Elementary is a small tight knit school full of parent involvement. The principal is excellent and a great motivator. We have two of our children currently enrolled and our third will be starting Kindergarten in a couple years. We couldn't be more pleased with the education our kids are receiving. The teachers and staff are amazing!

Thunder Hill Elementary School 5

Posted April 14, 2010
- a parent
THES is the best! Exceptional learning experience from the basics to fine and performing arts. My daughter transitioned just fine from private school and greatly improved her skills under the exceptional guidance of her teachers. Mrs. Parsons is a wonderfully gifted and caring teacher. Thanks to you and all the great teachers and admin staff at THES!

Thunder Hill Elementary School 5

Posted November 30, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Thunder Hill Elementary School 5

Posted January 29, 2009
- a parent
Thunder Hill has it all- excellent teachers, administration and staff. My children are achievers because of this school's dedication to its students. It's a small school, which allows opportunities for parents, teachers and administration to communicate effectively. The PTA is terrific, too! Thunder Hill is a 10+.

Thunder Hill Elementary School 5

Posted December 15, 2007
- a student
great education and nice teachers

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Thunder Hill Elementary School
9357 Mellenbrook Rd, Columbia, MD  21045
(410) 313-6922
Last modified Thunder Hill Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Thunder Hill Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top