Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Crofton Meadows Elementary School 5

Posted May 23, 2014
- a parent
Excellent school, excellent staff. I couldn't be happier with the education all 4 of my children have received at Crofton Meadows Elementary.

Crofton Meadows Elementary School 5

Posted May 10, 2013
- a parent
Crofton Meadows is truly an outstanding school. As we were looking for homes, we really looked into all the elementary schools in the area. Aside from being a National Blue Ribbon school, the teachers are extremely committed to the students. The community of parents are very dedicated as well. They have so many programs and offerings from movie night to the winter festival. Also, my kids have been able to participate in a bunch of clubs (science, drama, golf, etc). Such a fantastic school!


Crofton Meadows Elementary School 5

Posted September 25, 2012
- a parent
This school is HANDS DOWN the best school in Crofton!! Not to mention that we just received the NATIONAL Blue Ribbon!!! Which is something the other Crofton area school have yet to do.

Crofton Meadows Elementary School 5

Posted March 22, 2012
- a community member
I left CMES in 2006, after attending in kindergarten and third grade there. I miss it! I feel as though CMES has been a fantastic school for me to be in. The teachers were so thoughtful, kind, and caring. I loved my strings class. Strong administration. My friends at my current school have a low opinion of public schools, but I always retort by saying, "Just look up Crofton Meadows Elementary and you will see that not all public schools are bad." I made friends there, and it was great getting back in touch with them. I was so said when my third grade teacher left :(. She was the best! Overall: I LOVE THIS SCHOOL! <3

Crofton Meadows Elementary School 5

Posted July 18, 2010
- a parent
Very good school with an excellant Principal. All the teachers seem to go that extra mile to help all the students succeed. My son will be entering 3rd grade this year, his fourth year overall at CMES. I have nothing bad to say about the school, the staff and all the parental involvement!


Crofton Meadows Elementary School 5

Posted July 13, 2010
- a parent
CMES has been a wonderful experience for my daughter who is now entering first grade. Mrs. Joop, a firm but fair teacher, boosts my daughter's confidence and realised her academic potential which resulted in my child working with the Talented Development teacher. I'm sure her year of learning in first grade is going to be just as great. CMES is a jewel and the best kept secret in Crofton.

Crofton Meadows Elementary School 1

Posted June 07, 2009
- a parent
Not very helpful to parents with special needs. Automatcally blame the parents and do not address the learning disability Need better education on how to teach children with LDs.

Crofton Meadows Elementary School 5

Posted August 07, 2008
- a parent
We have had our oldest daughter at this school for 3 years and have been very pleased with the teachers and have enjoyed meeting all of our daughter's friends. The school has finally gotten a gifted and talented teacher which was been great. The school is small and has a nice close-knit feel. There has been much transition at the leadership level and we are hoping the new principal will be as good as some of the ones in the past.


Crofton Meadows Elementary School 2

Posted July 28, 2008
- a parent
This school has gone through several Principals over the last couple of years and yet again this year we are getting a new one. I think that in itself tells a lot about this school right now. A lot of the really great teachers are also leaving. This past year as a parent we felt completely in the dark about what was going on with our child. When we had a question about what was going we were made to feel like we are bad parents. This was our first year in the school, and the first school my child had been in. We didn't know that we would have to pry information out of the teachers in order to know what was going on. We were also not given a lot of infomation of how the programs at school worked.

Crofton Meadows Elementary School 5

Posted November 15, 2006
- a parent
My son came in as a new student in 5th grade. He quickly became accepted and was identified as a gifted student. They challenged him at his level. I appreciate that each student is looked at individually and that they work to meet their needs. Even though he only attended one year, several staff members have approached me and asked about him. Great staff! Very caring! My daughter's experience is wonderful too. She is doing great and there're wonderful opportunities for her to explore and learn. Top notch school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Crofton Meadows Elementary School
2020 Tilghman Dr, Crofton, MD  21114
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. (410) 721-9453
Last modified Crofton Meadows Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top