Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Davidsonville Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 7, 2014

I have a special needs child and am amazed at how clueless the school is in dealing with my child's special needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2014

Davidsonville Elementary. My granddaughter attends DE . I feel she is getting a better than average education. The staff and teachers are helpful and concerned. There is a lack of observance of student behavior ie: bullying. And when reported, the staff does not seem to be interested in investigating the incidents. There is a lukewarm concern given to individual reporting. There is a lot of gossip and talk about bullying but no real action or education of teachers and staff. I plead with you to exercise the guidelines that are given to your school on bullying and not ignore them. A concerned grandparent.


Posted June 24, 2013

Teachers are fantastic, parents are very involved and the speed and complexity at which learning takes place is perfect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2011

Our two girls have been at Davidsonville for the past three years and absolutely love it. They are both outgoing, advanced academically and thriving at DES. We have not had a bad teacher - in fact, they have all been amazing. And, the school has been highly responsive to any concerns or questions that we have. The school itself is beautiful - very modern, clean and bright. The biggest concern we have is where to go next, as we are not thrilled with Central Middle School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2010

If your child falls in the autism spectrum do not dare place your child in this school. We found this school to be decades behind in providing services to children affected by autism compared to other schools in the region. The staff lacks basic understanding or training in dealing with autistic children and are oblivious to special programs available for autistic children in their very own county. The county does it's best but unfortunately this particular school is stuck in the 70's in the area of educating children in the autism spectrum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2009

I have children in DES for 5 years now and while it has a lot of parental involvement from lots of stay at home mothers, I'm not overly impressed with the teachers or leadership and direction that they are receiving. A few teachers have been great but most just average. The emphasis is clearly on test scores and if your child doesn't score well, they are essentially left behind or pushed to produce better scores - not learn what they are lacking in. Too much homework, not enough communication with parents. And, my biggest pet peeve - the teachers spend way too much time telling the students inappropriate details about their own personal lives...TMI!! I often wonder when they get their work done. Overall, I have been disappointed but other than private Kindergarten, I have no other elem school to compare it with. It's ok but needs improvement!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2009

This is a great school! I moved to Davidsonville in large part because of the school's reputation, and I have not been disappointed! I've currently got three children there, and they all are thriving. The kids get great opportunities to learn in the classroom, the facilities are fantastic, and the fifth grade teachers are doing an especially good job challenging the students to think critically and creatively.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2008

I must agree with the post dated Dec 23,2006. We are a military family, so we have been in many schools. Davidsonville Elementary is a very big dissapiontment. The class size of the 5th grade is now 30-1. The focus is on the standardized test scores. The teachers and tests are very concerned with teaching 'New' thinking that the children are not focused on learning fundamentals. I was so disapointed with the school I withdrew my children at the end of the first grading period. In that amount of time the 3rd graders had taken 2 fireld trips and were signed up for a 3rd. The fieldtrip was a PE field trip, when speaking with the teacher she said she did not know the children had been on so many fieldtrips so close together. It would appear NO communication between teachers or administrative staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2006

As a former student and parent of a Davidsonville Elementary Student, you could not ask for a better group of teachers and administrative personnel. The involvement and feed back you receive about your child is amazing, along with the academic program they instill in a child is more then adequate to prepare them for the next level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2006

This is our second year sending children to this school. It has been a profound dissapointment. My third grader's teacher-to-student ratio is a terrible 20+ to 1. The principle seems to place getting a 'Blue Ribbon' rating over well rounded child development. The teachers are overly focused on scores for standardized tests. So much so that my children take multiple choice spelling tests! (as opposed to the traditional method of actually writing out a spelling words) because this is how spelling is graded on the standardized tests. The teachers overload the kids with homework because they cannot accomplish the tasks that they are expected to cover (for the stanardized tests) in a normal school day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2003

This is the best school I have ever been involved in! The parent participation is excellent and the staff is superb. The school is truly a fine tuned machine.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 42%
Hispanic 6% 12%
Two or more races 4% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 6%
Black 1% 35%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 6%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

962 Central Ave West
Davidsonville, MD 21035
Phone: (410) 222-1655

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT