Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Summit School

Private | 1-8 | 101 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Edgewater

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $300,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,720.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 20, 2013

This National Blue Ribbon School, has an overall 4:1 student teacher ratio with 99.5% graduating from high school, and 85% graduating from college. It is a school for bright children with learning differences. The needs of the whole child are met in every hour of their day. Well -rounded programs from STEM infused programs in science and technology to performing arts and sports are offered . Students from other states and countries have attended. The Executive Director , Dr Mele-McCarthy, is on boards of national professional organizations and is a frequent presenter of papers and workshops. This ensures Summit's access to research in the area of reading, executive functioning, oral language and education policy. This cutting edge approach, combined with numerous national professional awards, makes Summit's 25 years of excellence most admirable.


Posted May 6, 2013

How do you define excellence in education? The Summit School. From the head of the school to the teachers and staff, we found a family. The Summit School is a school committed to finding the potential in every child. If your son or daughter is struggling in school, or refuses to even go to school, give Summit a call. We did. They forever made a difference in our child's life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2013

Summit School has changed our daughter's life for the better. She was struggling in school and feeling poorly about herself until Summit turned it all around for her. With their specialized teaching methods, they have been able to help her unlock her potential. The teachers are incredibly dedicated and the atmosphere of the school is very supportive of all the students. It is a first-rate experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2009

i love it there there are graet teachers
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 24, 2007

Summit is excellent. They help each student individually to their needs. I am graduating at the end of the year. You should cheak Summit out. Please it is a real good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 24, 2007

Summit is excellent. I am graduating this year. Please cheak it out.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 7, 2006

Outstanding school for children with dyslexia. I only wish I had learned about it earlier. The program is flexible to meet your child's needs. They have a full time school psychologist to work with the students. They listen to the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2006

The Summit School is a wonderful school for children with learning differences. The faculty is highly educated as well as sensitive to the individual need of each student. The school has an excellent music instructor, art program and is beginning to offer after school sports. There is a strong parent involvement. Being apart of this school is like being apart of a family. The founder, principal and teachers are involved with each student, they spend time getting to know each one. Children gain self-confidence by being able to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 42%
Black 12% 35%
Hispanic 3% 12%
Two or more races 3% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special ed
  • Special education
  • Special eduction
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

664 Central Avenue East
Edgewater, MD 21037
Phone: (410) 798-0005

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Key School
Annapolis, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT