Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Central Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 785 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 15, 2012

I attended this school starting in second grade and I absolutely loved it! The teachers were so interactive with our classes and i really had a great time there. Mrs.Haberline is the best principal like ever! I think she does a fine job at Central Elementary. She and Ms. Keenen, which has sadly moved on, helped me win the ark community award and i cant thank them enough. My education there has brought me far, enabeling me to be in the most advanced coarses possible in middle school, including high-school coarse classes in 6th grade. I would recommend this school to anybody because i just loved it soo much. I even still attend Author Artist Night to connect with my old teachers.


Posted January 14, 2012

Love it. We have three children currently attending Central Elementary. In the last few years I have been able to volunteer often at the school, where I have seen the teachers and staff in action and I am so impressed. They go the extra mile, they take it personally and the children respond. The parent involvement is equally impressive and as a result the school offers so many unique programs and events. It is a great feeling to know you are sending your children off to a place where they will thrive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2011

This is an amazing school i love it here. Most of the teachers are young but they know what there doing. The principal is great she gets to know the students she knows all of there names when they go down the hall. There is very little bullying and if there is it is put to a stop immediately. If you have children and are moving to this area i highly recommend this fantastic school.


Posted February 11, 2011

Our family absolutely loves this school! We moved back to this school district after having children so our little ones could go to the same schools we did. It is amazing how many people/couples I recognize from childhood who have moved across the state or moved across the country to come "back home" and enroll their children in their childhood school. My child is also in second grade this year, and I have been very impressed with the math and language arts programs. The advanced reading groups (no more "Open Court"!) and the M2 math program and T&G math has proven very challenging. While I agree that the curriculum in previous years wasn't as challenging as it could have been, I firmly believe that this was due to NCLB, not the quality of the teachers. Now that this school has been relieved (due to high test scores) from the whole Open Court system and requiring teachers in the same grades to be teaching exactly the same curriculum each day (another downfall of NCLB), the quality of the learning environment has improved. For a school with as many students as Central has, it maintains a "small town" feel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2010

My daughter is currently in second grade. I would echo one of the other parent's statements regarding the degree to which the curriculum challenges students. I am pleased with the language arts curriculum; I feel that my daughter is at or above comparable-aged students elsewhere. The math curriculum, on the other hand, has not challenged her since starting school 3 years ago. More needs to be done to add varying degrees of difficulty to challenge those students who grasp the curriculum without much effort. The school is a top-notch school otherwise with active involvement from teachers, parents, and volunteers alike. I would recommend CES to anyone thinking of moving into the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2010

I have several children attending school at Central Elementary and find that the County curriculum is inadequate and not challenging. The math curriculum is absolutely poor, at least 2 grades behind where it should be, and worst of all the teachers know and acknowledge this. The county system cannot react to their "NEW" curriculum deficiencies and make changes due to its size and politics. The teachers and principal are dedicated to educational and student success and enjoy a VERY active PTA. Every parent we have spoken to who have children attending this school has the same comments without being provoked. Please suppliment the program quickly a student is only in each grade once and years are lost if not challenged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

We are going into our second year at Central my son is a first grader the school is wonderful the staff is excellent. I love going into the school and seeing nothing but smiles from the teachers and students at Central Elementary. I would highly recommend this school to any parents with children about to enter school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2007

We have just finished our first year at Central Elementary after living in Howard Cty for 13 years and we are very happy here. My child had an excellent teacher. She enjoyed participating in the after school activities that were offered at Central. The PTA responded quickly to items I requested were needed for the students. After making such a big change, we are happy with the results.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2005

We've just finished our first year in Central, having transferred to fourth grade from private school. Central is great as public schools go, with enthusiastic teachers, an expansive after-school program, active parents and a fantastic principal. The teachers do their best with the county curriculum, and modify/add content as necessary. Test scores have come a long way over the past several years, and are now comparable with the best schools in the county and many in Howard & Montgomery counties. Based on my experience, I believe the quality of education will continue to rise in the next couple of years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2005

I have had six years of experience with two children at Central. I do not believe that my children have had an outstanding education, but believe that Central teaches to the average student and is an average school. Kids are learning, homework is minimal, teachers are kind, and the PTA is active. Students are not pushed to achieve more, but ARE taught grade level material in the day by day pattern suggested by the county programs (Open Court Reading and Scott Foresman Math).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

'I have two children who attend Central Elementary. Based on my experience with other elementary schools that my older children attended, Central falls a bit short in my expectations of what a truly well-rounded elementary school is. The 'open' classroom environment is definitely a negative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2004

My son attended kindergarten at Central elementary school. I would highly recommend the school to any prospective parents. The principle was very helpful and I was very impressed by the supportive nature of the teachers. My son has excelled in the program and he really enjoys learning in the highly-conducive environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 43%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Hispanic 3% 12%
Asian 2% 6%
Black 2% 36%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 9%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

130 Stepney Ln
Edgewater, MD 21037
Phone: (410) 222-1075

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



The Summit School
Edgewater, MD





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT