Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
41 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 66 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Manor View Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted April 05, 2016
- a community member
These are all characteristics of the IB program. Students learn about being global citizens by using the IB Learner Profiles and Attitudes.

Manor View Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted April 05, 2016
- a community member
The school has a code of conduct where students learn a SOAR pledge- Safe, Organized, Accountable, Respectful. Each day, students start their day "Soaring." If they do a great gob, they go to "wow". If they've been given 2 or more warnings, students need to "reflect" on their behavior. Expectations are rules are simple and consistent.


Manor View Elementary School 5

Posted April 05, 2016
- a community member
Teachers set high expectations for the students and are more than happy to discuss any concerns and answer questions. There were a lot of staff changes last year along with a new principal. There are many after school clubs, a strong music/arts program, and an IB program where students are even learning Mandarin. I am impressed with all the great things that have happened in the past 2 years. Everyone seems happy to be there and want to do what is best for students. It would be nice to see more parents attend PTA Meetings.

Manor View Elementary School 1

Posted March 29, 2016
- a community member
This is the worse school my kids have ever ever been in. The front office staff were nasty to the parents. Going through so many different principles is so unbelievable it's not even funny. If you don't hang out with the teachers after school and party with them they are very rude to you and your child. Both my kids were straight A students and when we moved and after testing at their new school we learned my girls were a year and half behind in learning. My oldest daughter got bullied so bad I had to quit my job because these girls would follow my kids to my house. I brought it to the school and the school board and they didn't do anything about it and told me kids will be kids. This child told my oldest to should kill herself. They were in 3rd grade. My oldest daughters first day of kindergarten the school lost 2 kids. How do you lose two kindergartens? They us to call the mp's to help locate these kids. So many people pulled their kids out to homeschool or moved off base to a better school. I was getting my kids one day after school the principle was telling a mother should could never set on school property again and if she did she would be arrested and she would have to stand across the street in the mornings and after school to wait for her child.

Manor View Elementary School 5

Posted February 18, 2016
- a parent
Manorview has been a good spot for all three of my kids. One has high functioning autism, and has had an amazing teacher each of her three years here. My son struggles with being bored, but his teachers have been good to challenge him and expect his best. My youngest just started this year here as well, and has an amazing teacher who has picked up on some issues that she has and is helping get them addressed. Mr. Gruber is a good principal who leads from the front. He is the one welcoming the kids in the morning at the car drop off and is outside and available to any parent after school. He addresses concerns professionally and has really done a great job taking over the school when the last principal left and took 1/3 of the teachers two years ago. Honestly, I think the school is even better than before. There are some amazing after school clubs for the kids to get involved in, the music program is excellent, and the school is small enough that everyone knows everyone. My ONLY compliant is that there is no gifted and talented program.


Manor View Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 10, 2015
- a parent
Mr Gruber honors veterans on Veteran's Day with a ceremony at the start of school. Although the school is in session on Veteran's Day (thanks School Board) he makes an effort to honor the veterans. Mrs. Ross is always looking for ways to make the school better and will work tirelessly to meet with parents towards that end.

Manor View Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 10, 2015
- a parent
Teachers have to want to be IB teachers and undergo additional training in order to teach at a IB-PYP school. They know how to foster creative thinking in their students. I was grateful for my daughters 5th grade teacher last year. My daughter was disruptive at times due some anxiety issues, but they were handled professionally and my daughter still was able to excel in school.

Manor View Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 10, 2015
- a parent
My daughters both have enough time to finish their homework and play outside before dinner time. Homework is easy to understand and reinforces the classwork.


Manor View Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 10, 2015
- a parent
IB Character Traits develop a world view and demand students exhibit positive character traits. Their goal is to create good global citizens.

Manor View Elementary School 5

Posted November 10, 2015
- a parent
Teachers and support staff are awesome! They are open to any idea that may make the school better! Mr Gruber (the new principal) has energized the school. It is an International Baccalaureate Pre-Years Program School and the only one on post that is. If you graduate the 5th grade here, you are automatically enrolled in the Middle Years Program at MacArthur Middle School. Otherwise you would have to enter the magnet school selection program. I strongly encourage you to look into the school and ask current parents. The facility is older, but they are in the middle the planning process for rebuilding. Teacher quality matters more, to me, than building quality. The facilities are adequate, but the quality of the education is tremendous. Your children will learn Mandarin and play an instrument if they so desire. The art teacher is amazing.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Manor View Elementary School
2900 MacArthur Rd, Fort Meade, MD  20755
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 66 reviews. (410) 222-6504
Last modified Manor View Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades 1-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top